Home / Afrika / Südafrika / Polokwane (Pietersburg): Die Hauptstadt der Provinz Limpopo

Polokwane (Pietersburg): Die Hauptstadt der Provinz Limpopo

Polokwane, die Hauptstadt der Provinz Limpopo, ist eine südafrikanische Stadt auf einem 1.310 m hohen Plateau. Die Stadt hat 130.000 Einwohner. In der Metropolregion leben jedoch mehr als fünfhunderttausend Menschen. Die Stadt liegt nur 60 km vom Wendekreis des Steinbocks entfernt auf einem Plateau, das von großen Graswiesen gebildet wird, die sich mit grauen Granithügeln abwechseln, die als “Mohnblumen” bezeichnet werden.

In der Vergangenheit unter dem Namen Pietersburg bekannt, wurde die Stadt 1886 von Buren – die Buren sind die Nachfahren der Niederländer, die im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert nach Südafrika kamen – gegründet und war im Burenkrieg Standort eines britischen Konzentrationslagers. Hier wurden Burenfrauen und -kinder, die von britischen Truppen gefangen genommen worden waren, inhaftiert. Es waren an die 4.000 Burenfrauen und -kinder, die während des Burenkriegs hier interniert waren.

MUSEEN, KASINOS UND NATÜRLICHE ATTRAKTIONEN

Die wichtigsten Wirtschaftszweige der Stadt sind die Landwirtschaft, der Bergbau und das verarbeitende Gewerbe. Die Stadt ist über den Polokwane International Airport erreichbar, der Flugverbindungen nach Johannesburg bietet.

In der Stadt gibt es interessante Museen. Das Kunstmuseum in der Innenstadt beherbergt eine umfangreiche Kunstsammlung südafrikanischer Künstler. Ein weiteres berühmtes Museum ist das des Irischen Hauses. Das Museum befindet sich in einem historischen, viktorianischen Gebäude und zeigt Exponate zur Kulturgeschichte der Region. Unter den Attraktionen der Stadt gibt es auch mehrere Casinos, die Glücksspiele anbieten.

Polokwane ist vor allem das Tor zu zahlreichen Naturattraktionen. Unter diesen gibt es die Möglichkeit, die Tierwelt in Gebieten wie dem Polokwane Game Reserve, dem Polokwane Bird and Reptile Park und dem Moletzie Bird Sanctuary zu bewundern. Schließlich ist die Stadt aufgrund der Nähe zu zahlreichen Jagdgebieten ein wichtiges Ziel für Jagdbegeisterte Südafrikas.

Das Klima in Polokwane (Pietersburg).

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster.

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Africa / South Africa / Polokwane (Pietersburg): the capital of Limpopo

Polokwane (Pietersburg): the capital of Limpopo

Capital of the Limpopo province, Polokwane is a South African city located on a plateau at 1,310 meters high. The city has a population of around 130,000, but its metropolitan area is home to over five hundred thousand inhabitants. The city is located just 60 km from the Tropic of Capricorn on a plateau formed by large grassy meadows often alternating with rough granite hills called “‘koppies”.

Known in the past with the name of Pietersburg, it was founded by the Boers (the Boers are the descendants of the Dutch who arrived in South Africa between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries) in 1886. During the Anglo-Boer War (1899-1902) the city was the site of an English concentration camp. Here, in fact, Boer women and children captured by English troops were imprisoned. It appears that nearly 4,000 Boer women and children were imprisoned in the prison camp during the Anglo-Boer War.

MUSEUMS, CASINOS AND NATURAL ATTRACTIONS

The main sectors of the city’s economy are agriculture, mining and manufacturing. The city is served by Polokwane International Airport (Polokwane International Airport) which has air connections to Johannesburg.

In the city there are some interesting museums. The Art Museum in the city center houses an extensive art collection of South African artists. Another famous museum is that of the Irish House. The museum is housed in a historic Victorian architectural building, and presents exhibits on the region’s cultural history. Among the attractions of the city there is also gambling due to the presence of some casinos.

Polokwane is above all the gateway to numerous natural attractions. Among these is the opportunity to admire wildlife in areas such as the Polokwane Game Reserve, the Polokwane Bird and Reptile Park, or the Moletzie Bird Sanctuary. Finally, the city is an important destination for hunting enthusiasts in South Africa thanks to its proximity to numerous hunting reserves.

The climate of Polokwane (Pietersburg).

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: