Home / Afrika / Südafrika / Pretoria: Die Hauptstadt als Sitz der Regierung der Republik Südafrika

Pretoria: Die Hauptstadt als Sitz der Regierung der Republik Südafrika

Die Stadt Pretoria liegt in der Provinz Gauteng zwischen den Gebirgszügen des nordöstlichen Teils des Landes auf einer Höhe von 1.339 m über dem Meeresspiegel und nur 50 km von Johannesburg entfernt. Sie liegt im Übergangsgebiet zwischen der tropischen Savanne (Bushveld) und dem Hochplateau des Highveld. Die Stadt wurde 1855 von Marthinus Pretorius, einem Burenführer, gegründet, der sie zu Ehren seines Vaters Andries Pretorius Pretoria nannte.

Pretoria ist eine der drei Hauptstädte Südafrikas. Hier befindet sich die exekutive und administrative Gewalt, während Kapstadt der Sitz des Parlaments und Bloemfontein Sitz des obersten Gerichts ist. Die Stadt ist eine der bevölkerungsreichsten in Südafrika. Die Stadtbevölkerung übersteigt siebenhunderttausend Einwohner, während die Metropolregion drei Millionen Einwohner erreicht. Laut der Volkszählung von 2011 sind 52,5% der Stadtbevölkerung weiß, 42% schwarz und 2,5% farbig. Die am häufigsten gesprochene Sprache ist Afrikaans.

JARACANDA-STADT

Die Stadt hat einen regelmäßigen Grundriß, der aus Straßen besteht, die sich rechtwinklig kreuzen. Das Zentrum der Stadt bildet der riesige rechteckige Platz des Kirchplatzes. In der Innenstadt befinden sich zahlreiche Regierungsgebäude und andere Gebäude in verschiedenen Baustilen, darunter Beispiele für Kolonialarchitektur des 19. Jahrhunderts und architektonisch moderne Gebäude. Pretoria ist eine Stadt voller Grün und Gärten. In den Gärten dominiert der Jacaranda-Baum (Jacaranda mimosifolia), deren große Anzahl der Stadt den Beinamen “Jacaranda Stad/City” eingebracht hat.

Zu den bedeutendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt zählen das Voortrekker-Denkmal und das Haus von Paul Krüger. Es gibt auch interessante Museen, darunter das Transvaal Museum (Ditsong National Museum of Natural History), das sich der Naturgeschichte widmet, und das Ditsong National Museum of Cultural History, das sich der Vorgeschichte Südafrikas widmet. Interessante historische Gebäude sind die vier Festungen, die die Buren 1897/1898 während des Burenkrieges errichteten: Fort Schanskop, Fort Wonderboompoort, Fort Klapperkop und Fort Daspoortrand.

Pretoria hat einen eigenen Flughafen, den Lanseria International Airport, der sich 35 km südwestlich der Stadt befindet, aber nur von wenigen Fluggesellschaften angeflogen wird. Die Stadt nutzt hauptsächlich den Johannesburg International Airport (O. R. Tambo International), der nur 45 km südlich des Zentrums von Pretoria liegt.

Das Klima von Pretoria.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Africa / South Africa / Pretoria: the administrative capital of South Africa

Pretoria: the administrative capital of South Africa

Located in the province of Gauteng, between the mountain ranges of the north-eastern part of the country, at an altitude of 1,339 meters above sea level, and only 50 km from Johannesburg. The city of Pretoria is located in the transition area between the tropical savannah (Bushveld) and the Highveld plateau. The city was founded in 1855 by Marthinus Pretorius, a Boer leader, who called it Pretoria in honor of his father Andries Pretorius.

Pretoria is one of the three capitals of South Africa. This is where the executive-administrative power is based, while Cape Town is the legislative capital and Bloemfontein the judicial capital. The city is one of the most populous in South Africa. The city population exceeds seven hundred thousand inhabitants, while the metropolitan area reaches three million inhabitants. According to the 2011 census, 52.5% of the city’s population is white, 42% black and 2.5% coloured. The most widely spoken language is Afrikaans.

JARACANDA CITY

The city has a regular plan made up of streets that intersect at right angles. The center of the cities is formed by the vast rectangular square of Church Square. In the city center there are numerous government buildings and other buildings in different architectural styles including examples of 19th century colonial architecture and modern architecture buildings. Pretoria is a city full of greenery and gardens. In the gardens the dominant plant is the Jacaranda (Jacaranda mimosifolia) whose abundance has earned the city the nickname “Jacaranda City”.

Among the most significant references of the city we find above all the Voortrekkers Memorial and the house of Paul Kruger. There are also some interesting museums, including the Transvaal Museum (Ditsong National Museum of Natural History) dedicated to natural history, and the Ditsong National Museum of Cultural History dedicated to the prehistory of South Africa. Interesting historical buildings are the four forts built between 1897 and 1898 by the Boers during the Anglo-Boer War: Fort Schanskop, Fort Wonderboompoort, Fort Klapperkop and Fort Daspoortrand.

Pretoria has its own airport, the Lanseria International Airport located 35 km south-west of the city, but few are the flights that serve it. The city is therefore served mainly by Johannesburg International Airport (O. R. Tambo International) which is located only 45 kilometers south of the center of Pretoria.

The climate of Pretoria.

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: