Home / Nordamerika / Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika / Colorado / Colorado : Weite Ebenen und hohe Berge

Colorado : Weite Ebenen und hohe Berge

Colorado (The Centennial State) liegt im Felsengebirge im zentralwestlichen Teil der USA. Die Hauptstadt dieses Bundesstaates ist Denver. Der Staat hat eine rechteckige Form und grenzt im Norden an Wyoming, im Nordosten an Nebraska, im Osten an Kansas, im Südosten an Oklahoma, im Süden an Neu-Mexiko, im Südwesten an Arizona und im Westen an Utah.

BERGE UND HOCHLAND

Der US-amerikanische Bundesstaat Colorado ist durch das Vorhandensein der Gebirgskette des Felsengebirges gekennzeichnet, die den gesamten Bundesstaat durchquert. Diese Berge sind vielerorts 4.000 m hoch. Hier befindet sich der höchste Berg des Felsengebirges, der Mount Elbert mit 4.401 m.

Im Westen – jenseits der Berge – liegt das Colorado-Plateau. —– Der Fluß, der dem Staat seinen Namen gegeben hat, entspringt in diesen Bergen und steigt in das Plateau hinab, um den Canyon zu formen, der in Utah und Arizona zu einem der Naturwunder des Planeten Erde geworden ist. Im Nordosten des Bundesstaates erstrecken sich die Great Plains, eine beeindruckende Fläche welligen Landes, das für Weidewirtschaft geeignet ist.

Flaches Hochland bildet die Hälfte des Territoriums von Colorado. Diese Hochebenen sind zwischen 1.000 und 2.000 m hoch. Viehzucht und der Anbau von landwirtschaftlichen Kulturpflanzen sind in diesem Gebiet hoch entwickelt. 

Das Territorium von Colorado wurde im 18. Jahrhundert von Spanien erkundet, zu dem es nominell bis 1821, dem Jahr der Unabhängigkeit Mexikos, gehörte. 1848 am Ende des mexikanisch-US-amerikanischen Krieges mußte Mexiko Colorado zusammen mit anderen Gebieten an die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika abtreten.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 269.837 km² – der achtgrößte Staat der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika
  • Einwohnerzahl: 4.950.000 (Stand: 2008) – Weiße 82.8%, Asiaten 2.2%, Schwarze 3,8% und Indianer 1%. Die Bevölkerung lateinamerikanischer Herkunft besitzt einen Anteil von 17.1% und ist nach dem Stand von 2000 in verschiedene Rassentypen gegliedert.
  • Hauptstadt: Denver
  • Amtssprache: Die offizielle Sprache ist Englisch. Sie wird von 83,6% der Bevölkerung als Erstsprache gesprochen und Spanisch von 12,2% nach dem Stand von 2005.
  • Religionen: Christen 67% – Katholiken 19%; Protestanten 21%, Lutheraner 23%, Mormonen 2% und Orthodoxe 1%; ferner Juden 2% und Buddhisten 1%
  • Zeitzone: UTC-7, Sommer: UTC-6

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

Home / North America / United States / Colorado / Colorado: Great Plains and Great Mountains

Colorado: Great Plains and Great Mountains

Colorado (The Centennial State) is located in the Rocky Mountains area in the central-western part of the United States. The state capital is the city of Denver. The state has a rectangular shape, and is bordered to the north by Wyoming, to the north-east with Nebraska, to the east with Kansas, to the southeast with Oklahoma, to the south with New Mexico, to the southwest with Arizona and finally to the west with Utah.

MOUNTAINS AND HIGHLANDS

The American state of Colorado is characterized by the presence of the Rocky Mountain range, which cross the whole state. These mountains exceed 4,000 meters in height in many places. In the state of Colorado is the highest mountain in the Rocky Mountains, Mount Elbert (4,401 meters).

To the west, beyond the mountains, lies the Colorado Plateau. The river that gives the state its name was born in these mountains and descends into the plateau starting to dig the canyon that in Utah and Arizona becomes one of the natural wonders of planet Earth. In the north-east of the state the Great Plains extend, an impressive expanse of undulating land suitable for grazing.

Flat highlands form about half of the territories of the state of Colorado. These plateaus all rise between 1,000 and 2,000 meters high. Cattle breeding and agricultural crops are highly developed in these areas.

The territory of Colorado was explored by the Spaniards in the 18th century, to which it nominally belonged until 1821, the year of Mexican independence. In 1848, at the end of the Mexican-American war, Mexico had to cede together with other territories also Colorado to the United States of America.

  • Area: 269.837 sq. km. (8° largest state of the United States of America)
  • Population: 4.950.000 (2008) (Whites 82.8%, Blacks 3.8%; Asian 2.2%, Amerindians 1.0%. Hispanics (classified into different racial types) are the 17.1%. Data 2000).
  • State Capital: Denver.
  • Language: The official language is English (spoken as a first language by 83,6% of the population). Spanish is spoken as a first language by 12,2% of the population (Data 2005).
  • Religion: Christian 67% (Roman Catholic (19%), Evangelical (23%), Protestant (21%), Mormon (2%), Orthodox (1%)), Jewish (2%), Buddhist (1%).
  • Time: UTC-7; Summer UTC-6.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: