The Tumacácori National Historical Park is located in the high valley of the Santa Cruz River in the extreme south of the state of Arizona. The park is located near the Mexican border, 18 miles north of the city of Nogales and 50 miles south of Tucson. The entrance to the park is located on Interstate Highway No. 19 (exit 29). In the park area there are the ruins of three ancient Spanish Jesuit missions.
The park, which covers a total of 45 acres, is made up of three separate parts. Within the three sections that make up the park area are the Jesuit missions of San José de Tumacácori (1691), Los Santos Ángeles de Guevavi (1691) and San Cayetano de Calabazas (1756). The last two missions can only be visited by appointment. This is only possible during the autumn and winter months. The park headquarters are located in Tumacácori.
The most beautiful ruins are those of the church of San José de Tumacácori, the only ones that have been preserved in a fairly good way. While of the ruins of the other two churches today only heaps of stones are visible. The churches were built by local Indian craftsmen under the supervision of the Jesuit fathers. The mission was founded by the Jesuits in 1691 on the eastern side of the Santa Cruz River. The structure of the present church dates back to the mid-eighteenth century when the church was rebuilt on the western side of the river.
Park opening hours: The park is open from 8:00 to 17:00 every day. While it is closed for Christmas and Thanksgiving Day (Thanksgiving Day is the fourth Thursday of November).
Tickets: The park entrance ticket costs $ 3.00 per person, and is valid for 7 days. While under 16 years old, admission is free.