Home / Nordamerika / Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika / Nevada / Nevada: Eine trockene Wüste und eine Fata Morgana der Lichter

Nevada: Eine trockene Wüste und eine Fata Morgana der Lichter

Nevada (Silver State) ist ein Bundesstaat der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, der sich im Westteil des Landes befindet. Die wichtigste und berühmteste Stadt des Bundesstaates ist Las Vegas, das Zentrum für Glücksspiel und Unterhaltung. Eine weitere wichtige Stadt ist Reno, während die Hauptstadt des Bundesstaates die kleine Stadt Carson City ist. Nevada grenzt im Westen und Südwesten an Kalifornien, im Norden an Oregon und Idaho, im Osten an Utah und im Südosten an Arizona.

EIN TROCKENES UND TROSTLOSES GEBIET

Fast der gesamte Bundesstaat Nevada besteht aus Wüsten- und Halbwüstengebieten. Ein Großteil des Staates befindet sich im Great Basin, einem riesigen, trockenen Plateau. Die Trockenheit des Staatsgebiets wird hauptsächlich durch das Vorhandensein der Berge der Sierra Nevada entlang der kalifornischen Grenze verursacht, die den Zustrom feuchter Luft aus dem Pazifik blockieren. Entlang der Grenze zu Kalifornien befindet sich auch der höchste Berg des Bundesstaates, der Boundary Peak mit 4.005 m.

Die Great Basin-Wüste kennzeichnet den nördlichen Teil des Landes. Dies ist eine hochgelegene Wüste, die zwischen 1.200 und 3.500 m hoch liegt. Im südlichen Teil von Nevada befindet sich die Mojave-Wüste, die zwischen 1.000 und 2.000 m hoch liegt.

Das Gebiet des heutigen Nevada wurde ab dem 16. Jahrhundert von den Spaniern erkundet und befand sich nominell bis zur Unabhängigkeit Mexikos im Jahr 1821 in ihrem Besitz. Im Jahr 1848 mußte Mexiko, das im Krieg von den Vereinigten Staaten besiegt worden war, neben Kalifornien das Territorium von Nevada an die Vereinigten Staaten abtreten.

Das Klima von Las Vegas

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 286.367 km² – der siebtgrößte Staat der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika
  • Einwohnerzahl: 2.600.000 (Stand: 2008) – Weiße 75,2%, Asiaten 4,5%, Schwarze 6,8% und Indianer 1,3% Die Bevölkerung lateinamerikanischer Herkunft besitzt einen Anteil von 19,7% und ist nach dem Stand vom Jahr 2000 in verschiedene Rassentypen gegliedert.
  • Hauptstadt: Carson City.
  • Amtssprache: Die offizielle Sprache ist Englisch. Sie wird von 74% der Bevölkerung als Erstsprache gesprochen, Spanisch von 18,5% und Filipino (Tagalog) von 2,0%. Stand: 2005
  • Religionen: Christen 67%, davon Katholiken 27%; Protestanten 13%, Lutheraner 13%, Mormonen 11% und Orthodoxe 2%; ferner Juden 1%, Muslime 2% und Hindus 1%
  • Zeitzone: UTC-8, Sommer UTC-7; West Wendover (Nordosten) UTC-7, Sommer UTC-6

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

Home / North America / United States / Nevada / Nevada: an arid desert and a mirage of lights

Nevada: an arid desert and a mirage of lights

Nevada (Silver State) is a state in the United States that is located in the western part of the country. The most important and famous city in the state is Las Vegas, the center of gambling and entertainment. Another important city is Reno. While the state capital is the small town of Carson City. Nevada is bordered by California to the west and southwest, Oregon and Idaho to the north, Utah to the east, and Arizona to the southeast.

AN ARID AND DESOLATE TERRITORY

Almost all of the state of Nevada is made up of desert or semi-desert territory. Much of the state is located in the Great Basin, a vast and arid plateau. The dryness of the state’s territory is mainly caused by the presence, along the California border, of the Sierra Nevada mountains that block the influx of humid air from the Pacific Ocean. Along the border with California is also the highest mountain in the state, Boundary Peak (4,005 meters).

The Great Basin Desert characterizes the northern part of the country. This is a high altitude desert, located between 1,200 and 3,500 meters high. In the southern section of Nevada there is the Mojave Desert, located between 1,000 and 2,000 meters high.

The area of present-day Nevada was explored by the Spanish from the 16th century and was nominally in their possession until Mexican independence (1821). In 1848, Mexico, defeated in the war by the United States, had to cede the territory of Nevada to the United States, in addition to California.

The climate of Las Vegas.

  • Area: 286,367 sq. km. (7th largest state of the United States of America)
  • Population: 2,600,000 (data 2008) (Whites 75.2%, Blacks 6.8%; Asian 4.5%, Amerindian 1.3%. Hispanics (classified into different racial types) are 19.7%. Data 2000).
  • State Capital: Carson City.
  • Languages: The official language is English (spoken as a first language by 74,0% of the population). Spanish is spoken as a first language by 18,5% of the population. The Filipino (Tagalog) by 2.0%. Data 2005).
  • Religion: Christian 67% (Roman Catholic (27%), Evangelical (13%), Protestant (13%), Mormon (11%), Orthodox (2%)), Jewish (1%), Muslim (2%), Hindu (1%).
  • Time zone: (UTC-8; Summer UTC-7; West Wendover (northeastern area) UTC-7; Summer UTC-6).

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: