Home / Mittelamerika / Bahamas / Die Bahamas: Strände, Sonne und Meer

Die Bahamas: Strände, Sonne und Meer

Die Bahamas (Commonwealth of the Bahamas) sind eine konstitutionelle Monarchie und Mitglied des britischen Commonwealth of Nations. Der Archipel liegt im Westatlantik südöstlich von Florida, nordöstlich von Kuba und nördlich der Turks- und Caicosinseln.

EIN ARCHIPEL VON 700 INSELN

Die Bahamas bestehen aus 700 Inseln, von denen 30 die wichtigsten sind. Unter diesen befindet sich Andros, die größte Insel des Archipels mit einer Fläche von 5.955 km². Fernner gibt es u.a. die Inseln Abaco, Little Abaco, Grand Bahama, Great Exuma, Great Inagua, Long Island, Mayaguana, New Providence, Eleuthera, Cat Island und San Salvador.

Die Hauptstadt der Bahamas ist Nassau auf der Insel New Providence. Über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung des Archipels lebt auf dieser Insel. Die Bahamas sind flach. Der Mount Alvernia mit 63 m auf Cat Island ist der höchste Punkt. Die Haupteinkommensquelle der Bevölkerung ist dank des subtropischen Klimas und der herrlichen Strände der Tourismus.

Weitere wichtige Ressourcen sind dank günstiger Steuergesetze die Handelsmarine, eine der wichtigsten der Welt, und Finanzaktivitäten zahlreicher ansässiger Banken. Die landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse umfassen Zuckerrohr, Tomaten, Ananas, Sisal und Kokosnüsse. Die Inseln sind aufgrund der schönen Strände aus feinem, weißem Sand und des warmen, kristallklaren Meerwassers, das sie begrenzt, ein wichtiges Touristenziel.

Das Klima der Bahamas.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 13.939 km². – Ackerland 1%, Wiesen und Weiden 0%, Wald und Buschland 32%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 67%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 330.000 nach dem Stand von 2007 – Schwarze 72%, Mulatten (Nachkommen von Europäern und Afrikanern) 14%, Europäer 12%, Asiaten 2%
  • Hauptstadt: Nassau.
  • Amtssprache: Die Amtssprache ist Englisch.
  • Religionen: Protestanten (Baptisten 32%, Anglikaner 20%, Methodisten 6%, Church of God 6%, andere Protestanten 12%) und Katholiken 19%
  • Währung: Bahama-Dollar (BSD)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-5, im Sommer UTC-4

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

Home / Central America / Bahamas / Bahamas: islands of beaches, sun and sea

Bahamas: islands of beaches, sun and sea

The Bahamas Islands (The Commonwealth of the Bahamas) are a constitutional monarchy associated with the British Commonwealth. The archipelago is located in the Atlantic Ocean, east of Florida, north of Cuba, and west of the Turks and Caicos Islands.

AN EIGHTEENTH CENTURY ISLAND ARCHIPELAGO

The Bahamas are made up of around 700 islands, of which around thirty are the most important islands. Among these we find Andros which is the largest island in the archipelago with a surface area of 5,955 sq km. Then there are the islands of Abaco, Little Abaco, Grand Bahama, Great Exuma, Great Inagua, Long Island, Mayaguana, New Providence, Eleuthera, Cat Islands and San Salvador.

The capital of the Bahamas is Nassau, on the island of New Providence. Over half of the population of the archipelago lives on this island. The Bahamas islands are flat. In fact, the highest point is reached by Mount Alvernia (63 meters) on Cat Island. The main resource of the islands, thanks to the subtropical climate and the splendid beaches, is tourism.

Other important resources, thanks to favorable tax laws, are also the merchant navy, one of the most important in the world, and financial activities, the country is home to numerous banks. Agricultural products include sugar cane, tomatoes, pineapples, sisal and coconut palms. The islands are an important tourist destination because of the beautiful beaches of fine white sand that characterize them and the warm and crystalline sea that surrounds them.

The climate of the Bahamas islands.

  • Area: 13,939 sqkm. (Arable 1%, Pastures 0%, Forests and Woodlands 32%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 67%)
  • Population: 385,000 (agg. 2019) (Africans 72%, Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 14%, Europeans 12%, Asian 2%).
  • State Capital: Nassau.
  • Language: Official language is English.
  • Religion: Protestant 76% (Baptist 32%, Anglican 20%, Methodist 6%, Church of God 6%, other Protestant 12%); Roman Catholic 19%.
  • Currency: Bahamas Dollar (BSD)
  • Time: UTC -5 hours (Summer UTC-4 hours).

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German