Home / Mittelamerika / Aruba / Aruba: Wunderschöne Strände der Karibik

Aruba: Wunderschöne Strände der Karibik

Aruba ist eine Insel in der Karibik nördlich der venezolanischen Halbinsel Paraguaná. Sie ist die westlichste der ABC-Inseln der Kleinen Antillen. Die Insel, die früher Teil der Niederländischen Antillen war, ist heute ein autonomes Land des Königreichs der Niederlande. Die Hauptstadt ist Oranjestad an der Westküste der Insel.

EINE UNGEWÖHNLICHE SPRACHE: PAPIAMENTO

Aruba ist eine Insel, die hauptsächlich von einer gemischten Bevölkerung mit arawakischer, europäischer und afrikanischer Abstammung bewohnt wird. Die Kreolsprache Papiamento wird auf der Insel gesprochen. Dieses Kreol besteht aus einer Mischung europäischer und afrikanischer Sprachen. Papiamento beruht hauptsächlich auf Portugiesisch und Spanisch, hat aber auch einen erheblichen Einfluß durch die niederländische Sprache erfahren. Die Mehrheit der Einwohner Arubas ist katholisch.

Die Insel ist flach und trocken und bekannt für ihre weißen Sandstrände. Die schönsten Strände von Aruba befinden sich an der West- und Südküste der Insel. Das Innere der Insel hat nur wenige Hügel, die die Monotonie der kargen Landschaft unterbrechen. Arubas höchster Punkt ist der Hügel Jamanota mit 188 m.

Die wichtigsten wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen der Insel sind Tourismus, finanzielle Aktivitäten und die petrochemische Industrie. In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat der Tourismus zum Nachteil der petrochemischen Industrie erheblich an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Die Insel hat einen wichtigen internationalen Flughafen, den Aeropuerto Internacional Reina Beatrix. Die Insel ist durch Flüge zu anderen karibischen Inseln, in einige lateinamerikanische Länder, in die USA, nach Kanada und mit den Niederlanden verbunden. Um Aruba von Italien aus zu erreichen, ist es am leichtesten einen KLM-Flug zu wählen, der in Amsterdam startet.

Das Klima von Aruba.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 193 km².
  • Einwohnerzahl: 103.500 nach dem Stand von 2006 – Mulatten (Nachkommen von Afrikanern und Europäern) 80%, andere 20%
  • Hauptstadt: Oranjestad.
  • Amtssprachen: Niederländisch und Papiamento, eine Kreol-Sprache, gebildet aus Elementen des Portugiesischen, Spanischen, Niederländischen, Englischen und aus afrikanischen Sprachen
  • Religionen: Christen 90% (Katholiken 82%, Protestanten 8%), Juden 2%.
  • Währung: Aruba-Gulden (AWG)
  • Zeitzone: UTC -4.

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Central America / Aruba / Aruba: beautiful beaches in the Netherlands Caribbean

Aruba: beautiful beaches in the Netherlands Caribbean

Aruba is an island in the Caribbean Sea, located just north of the Venezuelan peninsula of Paraguaná. This is the westernmost island of the Lesser Antilles. The island, which in the past was part of the Netherlands Antilles, is now a dependency of the Netherlands with wide autonomy. The capital is the town of Oranjestad located along the west coast of the island.

A SPECIAL LANGUAGE: PAPIAMENTO

Aruba is an island inhabited mainly by a mixed population with Arawak, European and African descent. A local Creole language, Papiamento is spoken on the island. This language originated from a mixture of European and African languages. In particular, Papiamento is largely based on Portuguese and Spanish but has also undergone considerable influence from the Dutch language. The vast majority of Aruba’s inhabitants are Catholic.

The island is flat and arid, and known for its white sand beaches. The most beautiful beaches of Aruba are located along the western and southern coasts of the island. The interior of the island has only a few low hills that break the monotony of the barren landscape. Aruba’s highest point is Mount Jamanota (188 meters).

The main economic resources of the island are tourism, financial activities and the petrochemical industry. In recent decades, tourism has significantly increased its importance to the detriment of the petrochemical industry.

The island has an important international airport, the Queen Beatrix International Airport. The island is connected with flights to the other Caribbean islands, to some Latin American countries, to the United States, Canada and the Netherlands. To reach it from Europe it is better to take the KLM flights that depart from Amsterdam.

The climate of Aruba.

  • Area: 193 sqkm.
  • Population: 103,500 (2006 data) (Mestizo (descendants of European and Amerindians 80%, others 20%).
  • State Capital: Oranjestad.
  • Language: Official languages are Dutch and Papiamento (a creole language with roots in primarily Portuguese and Spanish, and to a lesser extent Dutch, African, and Native Indian languages).
  • Religion: Christian 90% (Catholic 82%, Protestant 8%), Jewish 2%.
  • Currency: Aruban Florin (Arubaanse Waarde Geld)(AWG)
  • Time: UTC -4 hours.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: