Home / Europe / Denmark / Denmark: in the past, the dominant state in Northern Europe

Denmark: in the past, the dominant state in Northern Europe

This post is also available in: العربية Deutsch Русский Türkçe

Denmark (Kongeriget Danmark) is a hereditary constitutional parliamentary monarchy. The country is divided administratively into 15 counties (in addition to the two cities of Copenhagen and Frederiksborg, grouped into 5 districts each).

The nation is formed by the peninsula of Jutland and some hundreds islands (including Sealand, the largest, Funen/Fyn, Lolland, Falster, Møn, Langeland, Aerø, Als, Bornholm, Læsø). It is limited to the north and to the west by the North Sea, to the east by the Baltic Sea and to the south it borders with Germany. It is part of the European Union.

Politically Greenland belongs to Denmark, of which it is a county with full legislative and administrative autonomy. Even the Faroe Islands are part of Denmark. They are also autonomous with their own Parliament.

The country is predominantly flat with low hills, the highest point, the Ejer Bavnehøj, reaching 171 meters above sea level. The greater part of the country consists of the Jutland Peninsula, which is connected to the European continent only in its southern part. Its land is generally flat or characterized by low hills, swamps and marshy areas. Peatlands are very common.

The Danish coast is along its North Sea coast bordered by dunes and sand beds. The east coast is rich in ports in deeply indented bays and very rugged.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster.


Denmark was in the past for many centuries the most important of the northern European states. In the 11th century under the Danish crown were unified together with Denmark, also England and Norway. Later, in the 14th century, the Danish crown controlled the kingdoms of Norway, Sweden and Denmark. Then in the fifteenth century the Danish monarchy extended over the territories located between the Elbe and the North Cape, also controlled Greenland and Iceland. In the 17th century, Denmark had colonies in the West Indies, along the coast of Ghana in Africa and India.

The climate of Denmark.

  • Area: 43,093 sq km
  • Population: 5,400,000
  • State Capital: Copenhagen
  • Language: Danish. English is widely spoken.
  • Religion: Lutheran.
  • Currency: Danish krone (DKK)
  • Time: Denmark is 1 hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (UTC+1). From the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October Denmark has Summer Time, which means putting the clocks one hour forward (Summer Daylight Saving Time UTC+2).



This post is also available in: العربية Deutsch Русский Türkçe

Booking.com Search FlightsImage