Home / Ozeanien / Tonga / Tonga: die Freundschaftsinseln von Captain Cook

Tonga: die Freundschaftsinseln von Captain Cook

Die Tonga Inseln (Pule’anga Tonga), sind im südlichen Pazifik (Polinesien) unter den Fiji, Samoa und Cook Inseln gelegen. Sie sind eine konstitutionelle zum Commonwealth gehörende Monarchie. Die Inseln – durch eine polynesische Bevölkerung bewohnt – wurden von der ersten Europäer im Jahre 1616 entdeckt, in diesem Jahr waren die niederländischen Schiffe von Willem Schouten und Jacob Le Maire das führte zu den Augen zum ersten Mal Inseln. Im Jahre 1643 wurden einige Inseln des Archipels von der niederländischen Kapitän Abel Tasman besucht. Im Jahre 1773 und im Jahre 1777 war der englische Kapitän James Cook auf den Archipel zu besuchen und für die Begrüßung erhielt er mit dem Namen Freundschaftsinseln getauft die Tonga.

Der Staat besteht aus den Archipelen von Tongatapu, Ha’apai und Vava’u, und anderen geprägten Inseln (Niuatoputapu, Niuafo’ou e Tafahi). Im Total sind sie 150 Inseln. Die Tonga Inseln sind aus dem Tongagraben aufgetaucht (-10.882 m), einem der tiefsten Tiefseegräben der Erde nach dem Mariannengraben. Die Hauptstadt ist Nuku’alofa, auf der Insel Tongatapu (260 km²), die ist die größte und am meisten bevölkerte Insel des Staats. Andere wichtige Inseln sind Vava’u, ‘Eau, Lifuka und Foa. Die meisten Inseln sind flach und korallinischen Ursprungs, und sind vor allem Atolle.

Einige von ihnen sind Vulkaninseln, mit tätigen Vulkanen, wie die Kao Inseln (1030 m), Tafahi (560 m), Niuafo’ou (260 m), Late (540 m), und Tofua (515 m). Ausserdem findet man zahlreiche unterseeische Vulkane, wie der Curacoa ( dessen Gipfel liegt 33 Meter tief), Home Reef (der ist 2006 aufgetaucht), Metis Shoal und Fonualei.

Die Landwirtschaft ist die Hauptressource der Insel. Man baut Maniok, Bananen, Kokosnüsse, Süßkartoffel, Agrumen und Vanille an. Die Fischerei und Tierzucht (Schweine, Rinder und Pferde) sind auch bedeutend. Tourismus stellt eine hübsches Einkommensquelle dar.

  • Fläche: 748 km². Kultivierte 67%, Wiesen und Weiden 6%, Wald und Woods 11%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 16%).
  • Einwohnerzahl: 112.000 (2005) (Polynesischen 98%, Europäischer 1%, Asiaten 1%).
  • Hauptstadt: Nuku’alofa.
  • Amtssprache: Amtssprachen sind Englisch und Tongaisch.
  • Religionen: Christen 100% ( Mormonen 43%, Methodisten 26%, römisch-katholisch 13%).
  • Währung: Pa’anga (TOP).
  • Zeitzone: UTC +13.

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Oceania / Tonga / Tonga: the Friendly islands of Captain Cook

Tonga: the Friendly islands of Captain Cook

The Tonga Islands (Pule’anga Tonga) are a group of tropical islands located in the southern Pacific Ocean (Polynesia) between Fiji, Samoa and the Cook Islands. These islands are a constitutional monarchy associated with the British Commonwealth. The islands – inhabited by a Polynesian population – were discovered by the Europeans in 1616. In that year it was the Dutch ships led by Willem Schouten and Jacob Le Maire who first sighted the islands. Later in 1643 some islands of the archipelago were visited by the Dutch captain Abel Tasman. In 1773 and 1777 it was the English captain James Cook to visit the archipelago and for the reception received he baptized them Friendly Islands.

A MONARCHY IN THE PACIFIC OCEAN

The state of the Tonga islands is formed by the archipelagos of Tongatapu, Ha’apai and Vava’u as well as some scattered islands (Niuatoputapu, Niuafo’ou and Tafahi) for a total of about 150 islands. The islands emerge from one of the deepest ocean pits, the Tonga Trench (-10,882 meters), second only to the Mariana Trench. The capital is Nuku’alofa on the island of Tongatapu (260 sq km), which is the largest and most densely populated island. Other important islands are those of Vava’u, ‘Eau, Lifuka and Foa.

Most of the islands are flat islands of coral origin, mostly atolls. But some are high volcanic islands, with active volcanoes, such as the islands of Kao (1,030 meters), Tafahi (560 meters), Niuafo’ou (260 meters), Late (540 meters), and Tofua (515 meters). There are also numerous underwater volcanoes such as Curacoa, whose summit is only 33 meters deep. Or as the Home Reef, which emerged in 2006, the Metis Shoal and the Fonualei.

Agriculture is the basis of the island’s economy where cassava, bananas, coconuts, sweet potatoes, citrus fruits, and vanilla are grown. Fishing and breeding (pigs, cattle, horses) are also relevant. Tourism is a decent source of income for the Tonga islands.

The climate of the Tonga Islands.

The official page of the Government of Tonga.

  • Area: 748 sqkm. (Arable 67%, Pastures 6%, Forests and Woodlands 11%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 16%)
  • Population: 112,000 (2005 data) (Polinesians 98%, Europeans 1%, Asian 1%).
  • State Capital: Nuku’alofa.
  • Languages: English and Tongan.
  • Religion: Christian 100% (Mormon 43%, Methodist 26%, Roman Catholic 13%).
  • Currency: Pa’anga (TOP).
  • Time: UTC +13 hours.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: