Home / Asien / Sri Lanka / Sri Lanka: Strände, Edelsteine und Teeplantagen

Sri Lanka: Strände, Edelsteine und Teeplantagen

Sri Lanka (Sri Lanka Prajatantrika Samajavadi Janarajaya/Ilankai Sananayaka Sosalisa Kudiyarasu/Demokratische Sozialistische Republik Sri Lanka) ist ein Inselstaat in Südasien im Indischen Ozean nördlich vom Äquator und südlich von Indien gelegen, der die ganze Insel Ceylon einnimmt. Die Meeresstraße von Palk und der Golf von Mannar trennen die Insel vom indischen Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu.

DIE ALTE INSEL CEYLON

Die Verwaltungshauptstadt ist Colombo an der Südwest-Küste, aber der Regierungssitz ist in Sri Jayewardenepura-Kotte. Neben Colombo sind die Städte an der Südwest-Küste Negombo, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Galle und Matara die wichtigsten. Im Landesinneren ist Kandy, im Norden Jaffna, und an der Ostküste befinden sich die Häfen von Trincomalee und Batticaloa.

Die Insel ist überwiegend flach und durch weites Küstenflachland gekennzeichnet. Das Flachland im Norden ist mit Savanne bedeckt, während die gebirgige Region im zentralen und südlichen Bereich der Insel liegt und von Hochebenen und Gebirgsmassiven bis 2.000 m gebildet wird. Hier befinden sich der Berg Adams Peak, Sri Pada (2.243 m) und der Pidurutalagala, der höchste Berg Sri Lanka (2.524 m). Der Hauptfluß des Staats ist der Mahaweli Ganga (332 km).

EINE LANDWIRTSCHAFTLICHE WIRTSCHAFT

Die Landwirtschaft ist das Rückgrat der Wirtschaft Sri Lankas. Unter den wichtigsten Kulturen sind Reis, Tee (davon ist Sri Lanka weltweit einer der Haupterzeuger), Kautschuk, Öl- und Kokospalmen, Erdnüsse, Gewürze (Kardamon, Zitronellgras, Pfeffer und Zimt), Maniok, Süßkartoffeln, Tabak, Baumwolle, Kaffee, Gemüse und Obst. Die Holzgewinnung und die Fischerei sind auch bedeutend. Demgegenüber sind die Bodenschätze gering: Graphit, Edelsteine wie Rubin, Saphir, Beryll und Topas. Die Industrie ist zum größten Teil der Verarbeitung von Agrarprodukten und der Herstellung von Textilien gewidmet. Schließlich ist der Tourismus ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

Das Klima Sri Lankas: Wann dorthin reisen?

  • Fläche: 65.610 km². (Kultivierte Fläche 29%, Wiesen und Weiden 7%, Wald und Buschland 32%, unbewirtschaftete Fläche und Ödland 32%)
  • Einwohnerzahl: 20.700.000 (2006) (Singhalesen 74%, Sri Lanka-Tamilen 12%, Moors 8%, indische Tamilen 5%, Burghers 0,4%)
  • Hauptstadt: Colombo (Sri Jayawardenapura).
  • Amtssprachen: Amtssprachen sind Singhalesisch und Tamil. Englisch wird landesweit gesprochen.
  • Religionen: Buddhisten 70%, Hindus 13%, Muslime 9%, Christen 7% (Katholiken 6%, Protestanten 1%).
  • Währung: Sri-Lanka-Rupie (LKR)
  • Zeitzone: UTC+5.30.

This post is also available in: Englisch Vereinfachtes Chinesisch Traditionelles Chinesisch Russisch

Home / Asia / Sri Lanka / Sri Lanka: beaches, precious stones and tea plantations
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka. Author Claire Rowland (clurr). Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka. Author Claire Rowland (clurr)

Sri Lanka: beaches, precious stones and tea plantations

Sri Lanka (Sri Lanka Prajatantrika Samajavadi Janarajaya/Ilankai Sananayaka Sosalisa Kudiyarasu, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka) is an island state of South Asia, which occupies the entire island of Ceylon, located in the Indian Ocean north of the equator and south of India.

The Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar separate the island from the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The administrative capital of the country is the city of Colombo, located along the south-western coast and the legislative and judicial capital is Sri Jayewardenepura-Kotte.

Apart from the capital city Colombo important cities along the south-western coast are Negombo, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Galle, Matara. In the interior of the island-country there is the city of Kandy. Jaffna lies in the north and along the east coast there are the ports of Trincomalee and Batticaloa.

Sri Lanka Map

Sri Lanka Map

The island – mostly flat – consists of large coastal plains. The northern part is flat and covered with savannahs and the only mountainous area of the country is the central-southern zone made up of plateaus and mountains that rise above 2,000 metres. Here are the Adams Peak (Sri Pada, 2,243 metres) and Pidurutalagala, the highest mountain in Sri Lanka (2,524 metres). The longest river of Sri Lanka is the Mahaweli Ganga (332 km).

The base of Sri Lankan economy is the agriculture. Among the most important crops are rice, tea (one of the leading world producers), rubber, palm trees (coco nuts, oil and copra), spices (cardamon, citronella, pepper, cinnamon), cassava, sweet potato, tobacco, cotton, coffee, vegetables and fruits. Important activities are the production of timber and fishing. Resources of the subsoil are modest: graphite, precious stones like rubies, sapphires, beryl, topazes. The industry is largely related to the processing of agricultural products and to the manufacture of textiles. On the south-western coast of the island tourism is an important factor of the economy.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster. 

  • Area: 65,610 sq km (Arable land 29%, Pastures 7%, Forests and Woodlands 32%, Uncultivated and Unproductive land 32%)
  • Population: 20,700,000 (2006 data) (Singhalese 74%, Sri Lanka Tamil 12%, Moors 8%, Indian Tamil 5%, Burghers 0,4%)
  • State Capital: Colombo (Sri Jayawardenapura).
  • Languages: The official languages are Singhalese and Tamil. English is widely spoken.
  • Religion: Buddhist 70%, Hinduist 13%, Muslim 9%, Christian 7% (Catholic 6%, Protestant 1%).
  • Currency: Sri Lanka Rupee (LKR)
  • Time: UTC+5.30 hours.

This post is also available in: Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) German Russian

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: