Home / Südamerika / Peru / Peru: Inkakultur und Andenlandschaften
Inkafestung Sacsayhuaman, Cuzco, Peru. Autor Nello und Nadia Lubrina

Peru: Inkakultur und Andenlandschaften

Peru (República del Perú) ist eine Präsidialrepublik im mittleren Westen Südamerikas. Der Staat wird im Westen vom Pazifik begrenzt und grenzt im Norden an Kolumbien und Ecuador, im Osten an Brasilien und Bolivien und im Süden an Chile. Zwischen dem Äquator und dem 18. südlichen Breitengrad gelegen, kennt Peru eine beträchtliche landschaftliche Vielfalt: das Küstentiefland, die Anden und das Amazonas-Regenwaldgebiet.

EIN LAND MIT SEHR VERSCHIEDENEN LANDSCHAFTEN

Der Küstenstreifen erstreckt sich über 2.400 km mit einer Durchschnittsbreite von 100 km und ist durch ein typisches Wüstenklima mit häufigem Nebel zwischen Juni und August gekennzeichnet. Hier befinden sich die wichtigsten Städte wie Lima, Callao, Trujillo und Chiclayo.

Die Andenzone wird von Bergketten gebildet, die sich von Osten nach Westen gebildet haben: die Östliche, die Zentral- und die Westliche Kordillere. Die Östliche Kordillere erreicht ihre höchste Erhebung in den Ausangate-Bergen (6.384 m) und den Salcantay-Bergen (6.271 m), die vom Tal des Rio Urubamba zerschnitten werden. Die mittlere Kordillere ist die niedrigste der drei Ketten. Die westliche Kordillere ist die wichtigste Bergkette des Landes. Hier liegt die majestätische Cordillera Blanca mit dem Berg Alpamayo (5.947 m) und dem Huascarán, der höchsten Erhebung Perus mit 6.768 m.

Im südlichen Teil des Landes, in der Nähe der Stadt Arequipa, liegen die majestätischen Vulkankegel Misti (5.822 m), Chachani (6.075 m) und Pichu-Pichu (5.669 m). In derselben Region liegt der Titicacasee (8.300 qkm). Er liegt auf 3.810 m, ist zwischen Peru und Bolivien geteilt, gehört zu den größten Seen Südamerikas und stellt einen der höchstgelegenen schiffbaren Seen der Welt dar. Im Osten, jenseits der Kordillere, erstreckt sich das weite Tiefland des Amazonas-Regenwalds, die etwa 60% des Gebietes nehmen. Hier fließen die wichtigsten Flüsse Perus: der Rio Marañón und Rio Ucayali. Sie bilden die Hauptquellflüsse des Amazonas.

EINE AUSBAUFÄHIGE VOLKSWIRTSCHAFT

Die Landwirtschaft ist wenig entwickelt. Man baut Getreide, Kartoffeln, Reis, Baumwolle, Zuckerrohr, Kaffee und Obst an. Die Viehzucht, besonders Schafe, Lama und Vicuña, stellt eine der traditionellen Tätigkeiten der Andenbevölkerung dar. Man züchtet auch Kleinvieh, Rinder und Schweine. Die Fischerei an der Küste des Pazifiks ist ein bedeutender Wirtschaftszweig. Ferner ist der Bergbau ein wichtiger Sektor der peruanischen Volkswirtschaft. Der Abbau von Bodenschätzen wird bereits seit der spanischen Kolonialzeit betrieben. Gewonnen werden Kupfer, Blei, Zink, Gold, Silber, Eisen, Erdöl, Vanadium und Wismut.

Machu Picchu, Peru. Autor Nello und Nadia Lubrina

Machu Picchu, Peru. Autor Nello und Nadia Lubrina

Der Tourismus ist dank der zahlreichen kulturellen Attraktionen und der Naturschönheiten des Landes gut entwickelt. Dazu zählen die archäologischen Stätten der Vorinka und der Inka-Kulturen (Machu Picchu und Nazca), die Kolonialstadt Cusco mit den Inka-Ruinen, der Titicacasee mit seinen Inseln, die Kolonialstadt Arequipa, die Andenkordillere und der Amazonas-Regenwald.

Das Klima von Peru.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 1.285.216 km². (Kultivierte Fläche 3,2%, Wiesen und Weiden 21,1%, Wald und Buschland 66%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 9,7%)
  • Einwohnerzahl: 28.674.000 (2007) Indios 45%, Mestizen (Nachfahren von Europäern und Indios) 37%, Europäer 15%, Afro-Peruaner 2%, Asiaten 1%.
  • Hauptstadt: Lima.
  • Amtssprache: Spanisch (Wird als erste Sprache von 80% der Bevölkerung gesprochen). Die Anden-Bewohner sprechen Quechua (16,5%), in der südlichen Andenregion wird Aymara gesprochen (3%).
  • Religionen: Katholiken 89%, Protestanten 6,7%.
  • Währung: Nuevo Sol (PEN)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-5

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

Home / South America / Peru / Peru: Inca culture and Andean landscapes
Inca fortress of Sacsayhuaman, Cuzco, Perú. Author and Copyright Nello and Nadia Lubrina
Inca fortress of Sacsayhuaman, Cuzco, Perú. Author Nello and Nadia Lubrina

Peru: Inca culture and Andean landscapes

Peru (República del Perú/Republic of Peru) is a presidential republic located in central western South America. The country is washed by the Pacific Ocean to the west and bordered to the north by Colombia and Ecuador, to the east by Brazil and Bolivia and to the south by Chile. Sandwiched between the equator and the parallel 18° south, Peru presents a remarkable diversity of landscapes: the coastal lowlands, the Andes and the Amazon forest.

A COUNTRY WITH VERY DIFFERENT LANDSCAPES

The coastal area of the country has an extension of 2,400 km with a depth of 100 km, having a typical desert climate with persistent fog between June and August. Here are the major cities of Peru such as the capital Lima and cities like Callao, Trujillo and Chiclayo.

The Andean zone is characterized by mountain ranges, which develop from east to west: the Cordillera Oriental, the Cordillera Central and the Cordillera Occidental. The Cordillera Oriental reaches its maximum height with mounts like Ausangate with 6,384 meters and Salcantay with 6,271 meters above the valley of the Urubamba River. While the Cordillera Central is the lowest of the three Cordilleras.

The Cordillera Occidental has the most important mountains of the country. Here is the imposing Cordillera Blanca with the Alpamayo, reaching 5,947 meters and dominated by the Huascarán with 6,768 metres, being the highest mountain of Peru. In the southern area of the country near the city of Arequipa are the imposing volcanic cones of Misti with 5,822 metres, Chachani with 6,075 meters and Pichu-Pichu with 5,669 metres.

In the same area is Lake Titicaca with 8,300 sq km, divided between Peru and Bolivia, lying at an altitude of 3,810 metres and being the largest lake in South America and the highest navigable lake of the world. To the east, beyond the Andean Cordilleras the vast plains of the Amazon jungle are to be found, which constitute more than 60% of the territory of the country. Here the major rivers are flowing including the Rio Marañón and Rio Ucayali, which are the main sources of the Amazon river.

Machu Picchu, Perú. Author and Copyright Nello and Nadia Lubrina

Machu Picchu, Perú. Author Nello and Nadia Lubrina

A LITTLE DEVELOPED ECONOMY

The agriculture is under-developed. Cereals, potatoes, rice, cotton, sugar cane, coffee and fruits are produced. The breeding, mainly of sheep, lamas and vicuña, is one of the most traditional activities of the Andean population. There is also breeding of poultry, cattle and pigs. Fishing along the coast of the Pacific Ocean is important. Mining is extremely important, being the true basis of Peru’s economy and the main wealth of the country since the colonial period. Copper, lead, zinc, gold, silver, iron, oil, vanadium and bismuth are extracted.

Tourism is becoming more and more important thanks to the many cultural and landscape attractions of the country such as archaeological sites like Machu Picchu and the Nazca Lines, the colonial city of Cusco and the surrounding ruins of the Incas, Lake Titicaca with its islands, the colonial city of Arequipa, the Andes and the Amazon forest.

The climate of Peru.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster. 

  • Area: 1,285,216 sq km arable land 3,2%, pastures 21,1%, forests and bushland 66%, uncultivated and unproductive land 9,7%
  • Population: 28,674,000 (as of 2007): Amerindians 45%, Mestizos (descendants of Europeans and Amerindians) 37%, Europeans 15%, Afro-Peruvians 2%, Asians 1%.
  • State Capital: Lima.
  • Official Language: The official language is Spanish, spoken as a first language by 80% of the population. The Andean population speaks Quechua (16.5%) and in the southern region Aymara is spoken by 3%.
  • Religion: Roman Catholics 89%, Protestants 6.7%.
  • Currency: Nuevo Sol (PEN)
  • Time Zone: UTC-5 hours.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German