Home / Mittelamerika / Honduras / Honduras: Eine Hochebene, die sich zwischen zwei Meeren erstreckt

Honduras: Eine Hochebene, die sich zwischen zwei Meeren erstreckt

Honduras (República de Honduras) ist eine Präsidialrepublik in Mittelamerika, die im Süden an Nicaragua, im Westen an Guatemala und im Südwesten an El Salvador grenzt, während sie im Norden und Osten vom Karibischen Meer und im Süden vom Pazifik umspült wird. Die Hauptstadt des Landes ist Tegucigalpa.

Mehrere Inseln im Karibischen Meer gehören zu Honduras, darunter die Islas de la Bahía (Roatán, Utila, Guanaja) und die Islas Santanillas (Schwaneninseln). Entlang der Pazifikküste befinden sich im Golfo de Fonseca die Inseln El Tigre, Zacate Grande und Exposición.

EIN GEBIRGSLAND MIT EINER AUSGEDEHNTEN HOCHEBENE

Das honduranische Territorium ist zu einem großen Teil gebirgig und besteht aus einem riesigen Plateau, das sich von einer Küste zur anderen auf einer Landenge erstreckt und von Gebirgszügen vulkanischen Ursprungs und einer Senke durchzogen ist, die sich vom Karibischen Meer zum Pazifischen Ozean erstrecken.

Im Westen des Landes liegen die höchsten Gipfel. Dazu gehören der Pico Congolón mit 2.500 m und der höchste Berg des Landes, der Cerro de Las Minas mit 2.850 m. Auch im Osten gibt es Gipfel von über 2.000 m, wie Montaña de la Flor mit 2.300 m, El Boquerón mit 2.485 m und Pico Bonito mit 2.435 m. Die Küste am Karibischen Meer wird von Lagunen eingenommen und ist stellenweise sumpfig.

Die Wirtschaft von Honduras beruht auf der Landwirtschaft mit Bananen, Kaffee, Zuckerrohr, Ölpalmen, Ananas, Zitrusfrüchten, Reis, Mais und Bohnen. Bedeutend ist die Waldnutzung von Kiefern, Mahagoni, Ebenholz und Walnuß und die Rinderzucht. Im Land gibt es wichtige Mineralvorkommen, insbesondere Zink und Blei neben Gold, Silber und Antimon, wobei der Abbau dieser Bodenschätze noch ausbaufähig ist. Der Touristenstrom ergießt sich vor allem auf die Hauptattraktionen des Landes: Die Insel Roatán mit zahlreichen Stränden und die Ruinen der Maya-Stadt Copán.

Das Klima von Honduras.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 112.492 km² – Ackerland 18%, Wiesen und Weiden 14%, Wald und Buschland 27%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 41%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 9.600.000 (Stand: 2019) – Mestizen (Nachfahren von Europäern und Indios) 90%, Indios 7%, Afrikaner 2%, Weiße 1%
  • Hauptstadt: Tegucigalpa
  • Amtssprache: Die Amtssprache ist Spanisch. An der Karibikküste und auf den vorgelagerten Inseln wird neben Spanisch Englisch gesprochen.
  • Religionen: Christentum 95% (Katholiken 85%, Protestanten 10%)
  • Währung: Lempira (HNL)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-6

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

Home / Central America / Honduras / Honduras: a plateau that stretches between two seas

Honduras: a plateau that stretches between two seas

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Honduras (República de Honduras) is a presidential republic of Central America that borders Nicaragua to the south, Guatemala to the west, and El Salvador to the southwest. While to the north and east it is washed by the Caribbean Sea, to the south by the Pacific Ocean. The capital of the country is the city of Tegucigalpa.

Several islands in the Caribbean Sea are part of the state of Honduras, among them the Islas de la Bahía (Roatán, Utila, Guanaja) and the Islas Santanillas (Swan Islands). While along the Pacific Ocean coast, in the Golfo de Fonseca, there are the islands of El Tigre, Zacate Grande and Exposición.

A MOUNTAIN TERRITORY WITH A VAST HIGHLAND

The Honduran territory is largely mountainous, formed by a vast plateau, which extends from one bank to the other of the isthmus, crossed by mountain ranges of volcanic origin and by a depression that extends from the Caribbean Sea to the Pacific Ocean.

The western mountains have the highest peaks. These include the Pico Congolón (2,500 meters) and the highest mountain in the country, the Cerro de Las Minas (2,850 meters). The eastern mountain range also has peaks of over 2,000 meters, such as Montaña de la Flor (2,300 meters), Monte El Boquerón (2,485 meters), and Pico Bonito (2,435 meters). The coastal areas of the Caribbean Sea are bordered by lagoons and are sometimes swampy.

The economy of Honduras is based on agriculture (bananas, coffee, sugar cane, oil palm, pineapple, citrus fruits, rice, corn and beans). Important are forestry (precious wood: pine, mahogany, ebony and walnut) and breeding (cattle). In the country there are important mineral deposits, especially zinc and lead, but also gold, silver, antimony. While the industry is underdeveloped. The tourist flow usually goes to the two main tourist attractions of the country: the island of Roatán, full of beaches, and the ruins of the Mayan city of Copán.

The climate of Honduras.

  • Area: 112,492 sqkm. (Arable 18%, Pastures 14%, Forests and Woodlands 27%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 41%)
  • Population: 9,600,000 (2019 data). Mestizos (descendants of European and Amerindians) 90%, Amerindians 7%, Blacks 2%, Whites 1%.
  • State Capital: Tegucigalpa.
  • Language: Official language is Spanish. Along the Caribbean coast English is also spoken.
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 85%; Protestant 10%.
  • Currency: Lempira (HNL)
  • Time: UTC-6 hours.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Booking.com Search FlightsImage