Home / Mittelamerika / Grenada / Grenada: die Insel der Muskatnuss
Concorde Falls, Grenada. Autor Lee Edwin Coursey

Grenada: die Insel der Muskatnuss

Die Insel Grenada (Commonwealth of Grenada) ist eine zum Commonwealth gehörende Konstitutionelle Monarchie. Der Staat ist Teil der Kleinen Antillen zwischen dem Karibischen Meer im Westen und dem Atlantik im Osten, nördlich von Trinidad und im südlich von Saint Vincent und den Grenadinen (Carriacou, Ronde Island, Petit Martinique, etc..). Die Insel besteht aus Grenada und den südlichen Grenadinen. Hauptstadt und Haupthafen ist das Städtchen Saint George’s an der Südwestküste.

Die gebirgige Insel Grenada (311 qkm) ist vulkanischen Ursprungs. Der höchste Berg ist der Mount Staint Catherine (840 m). Unter den weiteren Inseln ist Carriacou die größte des Archipels (33 qkm). Auch sie ist eine Vulkaninsel. Andere Inseln sind Ronde Island und Petite Martinique. Die Insel Grenada ist die südlichste der Windward-Inseln (Winward Islands). Die Küsten von Grenada sind steil und felsig entlang dem westlichen Teil, während die Ostküste hinunter zum Meer auf die süßeste Art.

Karte von Grenada

Karte von Grenada

Die Wirtschaft der Insel gründet sich auf der Landwirtschaft (Muskatnüsse mit dem 2. Platz im Weltmaßstab und andere Gewürze wie Zimt, Gewürznelken und Ingwer sowie Kakao, Agrumen, Bananen, Kokosnüsse, Zuckerrohr). Daneben sind die Fischerei und der Tourismus wichtig.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 344 km². (Kultivierte Fläche 33%, Wiesen und Weiden 3%, Wald und Buschland 9%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 55%)
  • Einwohnerzahl: 110.000 (2005) Afrikaner 82%, Mulatten (Nachkommen von Europäern und Afrikanern) 12%, Asiaten 3%, Weiße 3%).
  • Hauptstadt: Saint George’s.
  • Amtssprache: Englisch. Umgangssprachen Englisches Kreol und Französisches Kreol (15%).
  • Religionen: Christen 99% (Katholiken 53%, Protestanten 46%, davon: 13% Anglikaner).
  • Währung: Ostkaribischer Dollar (XCD)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-4.

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Central America / Grenada / Grenada: the island of nutmeg
Concorde Falls, Grenada. Author Lee Edwin Coursey. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution
Concorde Falls, Grenada. Author Lee Edwin Coursey

Grenada: the island of nutmeg

The island of Grenada (Commonwealth of Grenada) is a constitutional monarchy associated with the British Commonwealth, located in the Lesser Antilles, between the Caribbean Sea to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east, north of Trinidad and Tobago, and south of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The state consists of the island of Grenada and the Southern Grenadines (Carriacou, Ronde Island, Petit Martinique, etc..), the capital and main port is the town of Saint George’s located along the southwestern coast of Grenada.

The island of Grenada (311 square kilometres) is a mountainous island of volcanic origin, the highest mountain is the Mount St. Catherine (840 metres). In the Grenadines among those belonging to Grenada, the largest island is Carriacou (33 sq km), also an island of volcanic origin, other islands are Ronde Island and Petit Martinique. The island of Grenada is the most southerly of the Windward Islands. The coasts of Grenada are steep and craggy along the western part, while the eastern coast go down to the sea in the sweetest way.

Grenada Map

Grenada Map

The economy of the islands is based on agriculture, there are produced nutmeg (of which Granada is the second largest world producer), and other spices like cinnamon, cloves and ginger, then cocoa, citrus fruits, bananas, nuts coconut, cane sugar, other resources are fishing and tourism.

  • Area: 344 sqkm. (Arable 33%, Pastures 3%, Forests and Woodlands 9%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 55%)
  • Population: 110,000 (2005 data) (Africans 82%, Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 12%, Asians 3%, European 3%).
  • State Capital: Saint George’s.
  • Language: Official language is English. Spoken also a English-Creole and a French-Creole (15%).
  • Religion: Christian 99% (Catholic 53%, Protestant 46% (Anglican 13%).
  • Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
  • Time: UTC -4 hours.

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
Stay informed about Travel Guide