Home / Europe / Faroe Islands / Faroe Islands: spectacular cliffs in the Atlantic Ocean

Faroe Islands: spectacular cliffs in the Atlantic Ocean

This post is also available in: Deutsch

The Faroe Islands (Føroyar) are an archipelago in the North Atlantic Ocean between Great Britain, Iceland and Norway. The archipelago consists of 18 islands, which are located at a short distance to each other. The largest island is the island of Streymoy (373 sq km), located in the center of the archipelago. The capital Tórshavn lies on this island.

Other large islands of the centre of the archipelago are Vágar with 176 sq km and Eysturoy with 286 sq km, while to the south lie the islands of Sandoy with 125 sq km, Skuvoy and Suðuroy with 163 sq km, the latter one being the southernmost island of the Faroe Islands. To the north-east of the island of Eysturoy are Kalsoy, Kunoy, Bordoy with 96 sq km, Fugloy, Svinoy and Vidoy with 41 square kilometers, the latter one being the northernmost island of the archipelago.


The coasts of the islands are formed by wild cliffs and the interior is rocky and partly mountainous. The Faroe Islands are famous for hosting the highest cliffs of Europe. The archipelago’s highest mountain, Mount Slættaratindur with 882 meters, is located on the island of Eysturoy.

The Faroe Islands are a part of Denmark, of which they are a province with wide autonomy. The capital city of the archipelago – Torshavn – is located on the island of Streymoy. Fishing is the main economic activity of the inhabitants of the Faroe Islands. The wealth of the Atlantic waters around the archipelago is proverbial. Pastoralism is practised by the breeding of sheep. The islands were colonized from the ninth century by populations of Norwegian origin.

The climate of the islands.

The page of the Faroe Islands government.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster. 

  • Area: 1,399 sq km
  • Population: 48,500
  • State Capital: Tórshavn
  • Official languages: Faroese, Danish. Faroese is the national language and is rooted in Old Norse. The Nordic languages are understood by most Faroese. English is widely spoken, especially by the younger generation.
  • Religion: 84% of the population belong to the Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Faroe Islands.
  • Currency: The monetary unit on the islands is the Faroese króna, which equals the Danish krone(DKK).
  • Time zone: The Faroe Islands are on Greenwich Mean Time (UTC 0), in Summer on Daylight Saving Time UTC+1.



This post is also available in: Deutsch

Booking.com Search FlightsImage