Home / Central America / Dominican Republic / Dominican Republic: colonial towns and beaches

Dominican Republic: colonial towns and beaches

This post is also available in: Deutsch

The Dominican Republic also known as Santo Domingo (República Dominicana) is a presidential republic that occupies the eastern part of the island of Hispaniola (after Cuba, the second largest island in the Greater Antilles by size, 76,480 sq km). To the west it borders on Haiti, while to the east it is separated from the island of Puerto Rico by the Mona canal, and has the city of Santo Domingo as its capital.


The territory of the country is mainly mountainous. The most important mountain range of the island is the Cordillera Central (Central Cordillera), which crosses the island from north-east to south-west, it rises over 3,000 meters with the Pico Duarte (3,098 meters), which represents the highest peak of the island and of all the Antilles.

On the island there are three other mountain ranges. In the far north we find the Cordillera Septentrional, which slightly exceeds 1,200 meters. While to the south of the Cordillera Central are the Sierra de Neiba, which rises over 2,200 meters, and the Sierra de Bahoruco.

The island is rich in fertile land and streams. Between the Cordillera Central and the Cordillera Septentrional, there is the Cibao valley, which together with the southeastern coastal plain, represents the most fertile area of the country.

The economy of the Dominican Republic is based on agriculture. Sugar cane, tobacco, bananas, coffee, rice, cocoa, corn, tomatoes, pineapple and coconuts are grown there. Tourism is also an important voice in the balance of this Caribbean state. Finally, the resources of the subsoil are interesting. Among the minerals extracted we find bauxite, nickel, iron, gold, silver and rock salt. While cattle breeding (cattle, pigs) and fishing are poorly developed.

Official site of the Dominican state.

The climate of the Dominican Republic.

  • Area: 48,730 sqkm. (Arable 30%, Pastures 43%, Forests and Woodlands 12%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 15%)
  • Population: 10,760,000 (2019 data) (Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 73%, Europeans 16%, Africans 11%.
  • State Capital: Santo Domingo.
  • Language: Official language is Spanish
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 95%; Protestant 5%.
  • Currency: Peso (DOP)
  • Time: UTC -4 hours.



This post is also available in: Deutsch

Booking.com Search FlightsImage