Home / Europe / Spain / Aragon: natural mountain landscapes and medieval art

Aragon: natural mountain landscapes and medieval art

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Aragon is an ancient independent kingdom of the Iberian peninsula, which in 1479, by marriage, was united to the crown of Castile. The region, one of the least densely populated in Spain, is bordered by France to the north, while to the east it borders with Catalonia, to the south with the Valencian Community and Castile-La Mancha, and finally to the west with Castile-Leon, La Rioja and Navarre. Aragon, which has Zaragoza as its capital, is made up of the three provinces of Huesca, Teruel and Zaragoza.


The territory of Aragon, largely mountainous, can be divided, from a geographical point of view, into three main areas. A) The flat and fertile central area crossed by the Ebro river. B) The northern area characterized by the Pyrenees chain, with a spectacular natural landscape made up of high peaks, canyons, waterfalls and forests. Here is the highest mountain of Aragon and of all the Pyrenees the Pico de Aneto (3,404 meters) and several other peaks that exceed three thousand meters in height such as Monte Perdido (3,355 meters) and Monte Perdiguero (3,221 meters ). C) The southern area, south of the Ebro valley, where the peaks of the Iberian system rise, which reach the maximum height with the Moncayo (2,314 meters).

The Aragonese economy has developed somewhat in recent years. As for agriculture in the Ebro valley there are crops of fruit trees, olive trees, vineyards and sugar beet. Breeding is also important. The main industrial area is the one located around Zaragoza. Tourism is also an important activity for the development of the region.


Important are the tourist attractions of the region, rich in monuments that refer to the Arab occupation of the Iberian peninsula, such as the Palacio de la Aljafería in Zaragoza. And the subsequent reconquest, with valuable Romanesque monuments, such as the cathedral of Jaca, the castle of Loarre, the monastery of S. Juan de la Peña and the churches of Sos, Uncastillo, Huesca. Or Gothic (cathedral of Huesca), and Mudejar, a stylistic combination of Gothic and Muslim elements (Teruel, Tauste, Calatayud, Torralba, Zaragoza). To visit are the medieval towns and cities such as Alquézar, Albarracín, Tarazona, Huesca, Daroca, Sádaba.

Also noteworthy are the natural attractions of the region, rich in unspoiled natural environments such as the Pyrenees chain with its peaks, glaciers, gorges and forests, among all the Ordesa National Park and Monte Perdido in the Pyrenees, a paradise for lovers of trekking and nature. There are three natural parks (Posets-Maladeta, Sierra y Cañones de Guara, Moncayo).

In Aragon there are some sites declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site: The Mudejar architecture of Aragon, which includes the churches of Teruel (the cathedral of Santa María de Mediavilla, the churches of San Pedro, San Martín and Salvador), Calatayud (Santa María church), Cervera de la Cañada (Santa Tecla church), Tobed (Santa María church). And three monuments of Zaragoza (the Palacio de la Aljafería, San Pablo church, and the La Seo cathedral). The Ordesa and Monte Perdido National Park. The Camino de Santiago, the pilgrimage route to Santiago de Compostela (numerous sites in different regions of Spain). The prehistoric art of the Mediterranean basin in the Iberian Peninsula (numerous sites in different regions of Spain).


  • Area: 47,719 km²
  • Population: 1,300,000 (2019)
  • Capital: Zaragoza

This post is also available in: Deutsch


Check Also

Extremadura: Roman and Arab remains and medieval cities

This post is also available in: Deutsch Extremadura is an ancient region ...