Home / Südamerika / Paraguay / Paraguay: Große Flüsse, Savannen und Wälder

Paraguay: Große Flüsse, Savannen und Wälder

Paraguay (República del Paraguay; Tetä Paraguáype) ist eine Präsidialrepublik im südlichen Teil Südamerikas. Es grenzt im Norden an Bolivien, im Osten an Brasilien und im Süden und Westen an Argentinien. Asunción ist die Hauptstadt. Sie liegt am linken Ufer des Rio Paraguay. Sie ist die einzige Großstadt des Landes und ein wichtiger Flusshafen.

Das Gebiet Paraguays ist durch den Fluss Paraguay in zwei verschiedene Regionen geteilt: im Westen liegt der Gran Chaco, ein großartiges Tafelland, steppenartig und sumpfig und von Überschwemmungen gekennzeichnet. Im Osten liegt die Paraneña, eine hügelige Region mit einer Durchschnittshöhe von 300-600 m. In dieser Region konzentriert sich die Bevölkerung.

Die wichtigsten Flüsse sind der Rio Paraguay, der durch das ganze Land fließt, und der Rio Paraná an der Grenze zu Brasilien und Argentinien. Entlang dem Fluss Paraná wurde 1984 der binationale große Staudamm Itaipú von Brasilien und Paraguay gebaut. Ein anderes großes Wasserkraftwerk liegt in Yacyretá, auch am Rio Paraná gelegen, ebenfalls in gemeinsamem Besitz von Paraguay und Argentinien.

Dank dieser Kraftwerke ist Paraguay der größte Wasserkraft-Exporteur der Welt. Im Jahr 2003 hat es 51,29 Milliarden kwh produziert, von denen 44,17 Milliarden exportiert wurden. Die Wirtschaft des Landes besteht hauptsächlich aus Landwirtschaft. Man baut Soja, Baumwolle, Mais, Reis, Weizen, Tabak, Zuckerrohr, Kartoffeln, Hülsenfrüchtle, Maniok, Kaffee und Obst (Orangen, Bananen und Ananas) an. Die Tierzucht, vor allem Rinder- und Schweinzucht, sowie der Waldbestand (Zedern-, Mahagoni- und Nussbaumholz) sind wichtig.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 406.752 km². (Kultivierte Fläche 5,6%, Wiesen und Weiden 53,3%, Wald und Buschland 31,6%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 9,5%)
  • Einwohnerzahl: 6.160.000 (2005) (Mestizen (Nachfahren von Europäern und Indios) 65%, Europäer 30%, Asiaten 2%, Indios (Guaraní) 1%).
  • Hauptstadt: Asunción.
  • Amtssprache: Amtssprachen sind Spanisch und Guaraní; ferner wird Deutsch von den Mennoniten und Zuwanderern aus Mitteleuropa von 1% der Bevölkerung gesprochen.
  • Religionen: Katholiken 95%, Protestanten 5%.
  • Währung: Guaranì (PYG).
  • Zeitzone: UTC -4 (Sommer UTC -3).

UNTERKÜNFTE, WOHNUNGEN, B & B UND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / South America / Paraguay / Paraguay: great rivers, savannahs and forests
Asunción, Paraguay. Author Felipe Antonio. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike
Asunción, Paraguay. Author Felipe Antonio

Paraguay: great rivers, savannahs and forests

Paraguay (República del Paraguay/Tetã Paraguái/Republic of Paraguay) is a presidential republic located in the central southern part of South America, bordered to the north by Bolivia, to the east by Brazil and to the south and west by Argentina. Asunción, the capital, located on the left bank of the Río Paraguay, is the only real city of the country and a major river port.

The territory is divided by the river Paraguay in two distinct regions: To the west lies the Gran Chaco, a large steppe and marshland tableland, while to the east lies the Paraneña or eastern Paraguay, a hilly area with a height between 300 and 600 meters. The overwhelming majority of the population lives In this second region.

The most important rivers are the Paraguay, which crosses the country and the Paraná on the border with Brazil and Argentina. In 1984 along the river Paraná the colossal Itaipú dam, which is the largest operational hydroelectric power plant of the world, was built, possessing a joint ownership of Paraguay and Brazil. Another large hydroelectric power plant, always along the Paraná, is that of Yacyretá, in this case in joint ownership of Paraguay and Argentina. Thanks to these power stations Paraguay is the first exporter of hydroelectric power of the world. In 2003 it produced 51,29 billion kWh and has exported 44,17 billion kWh.

Paraguay Map

Paraguay Map

The economy of the country is mainly linked to agriculture. Here you find cotton, cassava, maize, rice, wheat, tobacco, sugar cane, sweet potatoes, beans, soya, coffee and fruits like oranges, bananas and pineapples. Cattle farming and the raising of pigs are important. Forests with cedar, mahogany and walnut are exploited.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster. 

  • Area: 406,752 sq km: arable land 5,6%, pastures 53,3%, forests and bushland 31,6%, uncultivated and unproductive land 9,5%
  • Population: 6,160,000 (as of 2005): Mestizos (descendants of Guaraní and Europeans) 65%, Europeans 30%, Asians 2%, Amerindians (Guaraní) 1%.
  • State Capital: Asunción.
  • Official Language: The official languages are Spanish and Guaraní. Mennonite German is spoken by 1% of the population.
  • Religion: Christians 100%: Catholics 95%, Protestants 5%
  • Currency: Guaraní (PYG).
  • Time Zone: UTC-4 hours, in summer UTC -3 hours

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
Stay informed about Travel Guide
eXTReMe Tracker