Home / Mittelamerika / Panama / Panama: Ein schmaler Landstreifen zwischen zwei Ozeanen

Panama: Ein schmaler Landstreifen zwischen zwei Ozeanen

Panamá (República del Panamá) ist eine Präsidialrepublik Mittelamerikas und an der engsten Stelle der Landbrücke gelegen. Sie grenzt im Westen an Costa Rica, im Osten an Kolumbien und wird im Norden vom Karibischen Meer und im Süden vom Pazifik begrenzt. Die Hauptstadt ist Panama-Stadt.

EIN STRATEGISCHER KANAL ZWISCHEN ZWEI OZEANEN

Dank seiner Lage direkt am Isthmus, der die Verbindung zwischen dem Atlantik und Pazifik darstellt, verfügt Panama über eine strategische Position. Seit der Jahrtausendwende im Jahr 2000 wird der Kanal von der panamaischen Kanalbehörde verwaltet.

Die Inseln der Archipele Bocas del Toro in der Nähe der Grenze zu Costa Rica und San Blas nahe Kolumbien gehören zu Panama. Diese Inseln sind im Karibischen Meer gelegen, während sich der Archipel Las Perlas mitten im Golf von Panama, die Isla de Coiba im Golf von Chiriquí und die Insel Taboga im Pazifik liegen.

Das Territorium Panamas wird von Bergketten geprägt, die durch ein Zentraltal getrennt sind. In diesem Bereich wurde der Kanal gebaut. Nördlich des Kanals liegt die Cordillera Central. Dort befindet sich die höchste Erhebung des Landes: Der Vulkan Barú mit 3.474 m. Jenseits des Kanals in der Nähe der Grenze zu Kolumbien erheben sich die Cordillera de San Blas und die Serrania del Darién.

EIN STEUERPARADIES

Die Wirtschaft Panamas besitzt ihre Haupteinnahmequelle im Geschäft mit dem Panamakanal. Das Land ist auch ein wichtiger Finanzplatz. Wichtig ist der Fang von Krebsen. Panama verfügt dank seines Steuersystems über eine der größten Handelsflotten der Welt. In der Landwirtschaft werden Bananen, Kaffee, Kakao, Mais, Reis, Kartoffeln,Maniok, Tomaten, Zuckerrohr und Tabak gewonnen. Die Viehzucht konzentriert sich auf die Zucht von Rindern. Schließlich ist der Waldbestand von großer Bedeutung.

Das Klima Panamas

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 75.517 km² – Ackerland 9%, Wiesen und Weiden 19%, Wald und
    Buschland 43%, unbewirtschaftete und unproduktive Fläche 29%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 4.200.000 (Stand: 2019) – Mestizen (Nachfahren von Europäern undIndios) 70%, Mulatten (Nachkommen von Europäern und Afrikanern 10%, Weiße 10%, Indios 5%, Asiaten 5%
  • Hauptstadt: Panama-Stadt
  • Amtssprache: Die Amtssprache ist Spanisch, daneben wird viel Englisch gesprochen.
  • Religion: Katholiken 80%, Protestanten 10%, Muslime 4%
  • Währung: Balboa (PAB)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-5

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Central America / Panama / Panama: a narrow strip of land between two oceans

Panama: a narrow strip of land between two oceans

Panama is a presidential republic of Central America, located in the narrowest part of the Isthmian region of Central America. This state borders Costa Rica to the west, Colombia to the east, is washed by the Caribbean Sea to the north and the Pacific Ocean to the south. The capital is the city of Panama.

A STRATEGIC CHANNEL BETWEEN TWO OCEANS

The country’s position on the Isthmus of Panama is of great strategic importance. Since 1999 the Panama Canal has been under the control of the Panamanian state, it allows a rapid connection between the Atlantic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean.

The islands of the archipelagos de Bocas del Toro (near the border with Costa Rica) and San Blas (near the border with Colombia) located on the side of the Caribbean Sea are also part of the state. While in the Pacific Ocean are the Archipiélago de las Perlas (in the center of the Gulf of Panama), the Isla de Coiba (in the Golfo de Chiriquí) and the island of Taboga.

The entire territory of Panama is crossed by a series of mountain ranges divided by a central depression, where the Panama Canal was built. To the north of the canal we find the Cordillera Central where is the highest mountain in the country the Volcán Barú (3,474 meters). To the south, beyond the canal, towards the border with Colombia are the reliefs of the Cordillera de San Blas and the Serrania del Darién.

A TAX PARADISE

The Panama economy has its main source of income from the Panama Canal business. But the country is also an important financial center. Very important is fishing (crustaceans). The country, thanks to its tax regime, also has one of the largest merchant fleets in the world. Agriculture produces bananas, coffee, cocoa, corn, rice, potatoes, cassava, tomatoes, sugar cane and tobacco. While breeding is mainly concentrated on cattle. Finally, the forest heritage is of great importance.

The climate of Panama.

  • Area: 75,517 sqkm. (Arable 9%, Pastures 19%, Forests and Woodlands 43%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 29%)
  • Population: 4,200,000 (2019 data) Mestizos (descendants of European and Amerindians) 70%, Mulattos (descendants of European/Amerindians and Africans) 10%, Europeans 10%, Asian 5%, Amerindians 5%.
  • State Capital: Panama.
  • Language: Official language is Spanish. English is also spoken.
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 80%; Protestant 10%, Muslim 4%.
  • Currency: Balboa (PAB)
  • Time: UTC-5 hours.

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German