Home / Asien / Japan / Japan: Modernität, Traditionen, Inseln und Vulkane

Japan: Modernität, Traditionen, Inseln und Vulkane

Japan ist ein Staat in Nordostasien mit mehr als 3.000 Inseln, die sich in Richtung Nord-Süd zwischen den Kurilen und den Sahalininseln nördlich von Taiwan erstrecken. Der japanische Archipel besteht aus zahlreichen Inseln vulkanischen Ursprungs mit unzähligen aktiven Vulkanen. Erdbeben sind auch häufig. 70% des Landes wird von Bergen eingenommen.

Die Hauptinsel Japans ist Honshū mit 227.962 km², die siebtgrößte Insel der Erde. Auf ihr liegen einige der größten Städte des Landes wie die Hauptstadt Tokyo – eine der bevölkertsten Metropolen der Welt -, Kyōto, Osaka, Kōbe, Nagoya, Yokohama und Hiroshima. Die letztgenannte ist wegen des tragischen Atombombenabwurfs am Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs im Pazifik bekannt.

Die Insel Honshū ist reich an Bergen und Vulkankegeln. Das Rückgrat der Insel sind die Japanischen Alpen, die die Insel von Norden nach Süden durchziehen. Diese Alpen werden von den Ketten der Berge Hida, Kiso und Akaishi gebildet. Hier gibt es Gipfel über 3.000 m wie die Berge Hotaka mit 3.190 m und Kita mit 3.193 m. In zentraler und zugleich südlicher Lage auf der Insel befindet sich der höchste Berg Japans, der Berg Fujijama mit 3.776 m, einem noch aktiven Vulkan in Kegelform.

Neben der Insel Honshū gibt es noch drei weitere Hauptinseln. Im Norden des Archipels liegt die Insel Hokkaidō mit 83.453 km². Sapporo ist die Hauptstadt. Die Topographie der Insel ist von Vulkanhochebenen gekennzeichnet und verfügt über mehrere Vulkane. Unter diesen Hochebenen sind die Daisetsuzan mit dem Berg Asahi mit 2.290 m die höchste Erhebung Hokkaidōs.

EIN MODERNES LAND, ABER NOCH MIT STARKEN TRADITIONEN

Südlich von Honshū liegen die beiden anderen Hauptinseln Kyūshū mit 35.640 km² und Shikoku mit 18.800 km². Kyūshū ist flächenmäßig die drittgrößte japanische Insel und beherbergt den aktivsten japanischen Vulkan, den Berb Aso mit 1.519 m. Über den höchsten Gipfel verfügt der Berg Kujū-san mit 1.788 m. Die wichtigste Stadt der Insel ist Fukuoka. Ein anderer auf tragische Weise bekannt gewordener Ort ist Nagasaki.

Die viertgrößte Insel Japans ist Shikoku südlich von Honshū und östlich von Kyūshū gelegen. Der höchste Berg der Insel ist der Ishizuchi mit 1.982 m. Südlich von Kyūshū erstreckt sich über mehr als 1.000 km der Archipel der Ryukuyu-Inseln, der aus einigen hundert Vulkaninseln besteht. Die größte davon ist Okinawa mit 1.015 km².

Die Wirtschaft Japans steht nach dem nominalen Bruttoinlandsprodukt an erster Stelle in Asien, noch vor der Volksrepublik China und Indien.

Japans Klima.

Die offizielle Seite der japanischen Regierung.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster.

  • Fläche: 377.873 km² – Ackerland 12%, Wiesen und Weiden 2%, Wald und Buschland 66%, unbewirtschaftet oder unproduktiv 20%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 127.500.000 (Stand: 2007)
  • Hauptstadt: Tokio.
  • Amtssprache: Die offizielle Landessprache ist Japanisch.
  • Religionen: Buddhismus, Shintoismus, Christentum 2%
  • Währung: Yen (JPY)
  • Zeitzone: UTC+9

This post is also available in: Englisch Vereinfachtes Chinesisch Traditionelles Chinesisch Russisch

Home / Asia / Japan / Japan: modernity, tradition, islands and volcanoes
Tokyo, Japan. Author Morio. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike
Tokyo, Japan. Author Morio

Japan: modernity, tradition, islands and volcanoes

Japan is a country of North-East Asia consists of more than 3,000 islands that extend in a north-south direction between the Kuril Islands and Sakhalin in the north and the island of Formosa (Taiwan) to the south. The Japanese archipelago consists of numerous islands of volcanic origin, many are still active volcanoes and frequent are the earthquakes, more than 70% of the country consists of mountains.

The main island of Japan is Honshu Island (227,962 sq km, seventh largest island in the world), on it are some of the largest cities in the country, starting from the capital Tokyo, one of the most populous metropolis in the world, other important cities of the island are Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, Nagoya, Yokohama and Hiroshima, famous for the launch of the first atomic bomb.

Honshu Island is full of mountains and volcanic peaks, the backbone of the island is formed by the Japanese Alps, which runs from north to south, they are formed by chains of mountains Hida, Kiso and Akaishi, with peaks exceeding 3,000 meters as the mountains Hotaka (3,190 meters) and Mount Kita (3,193 meters). In south-central Honshu is also the highest mountain in Japan, Mount Fuji (3,776 meters), a still active volcanic peak of nearly perfect conical shape.

Japan Map

Japan Map

Besides Honshū other three are the main islands of the archipelago of Japan, at the extreme north of the archipelago is the island of Hokkaido (83,453 sq km), here the most important city is Sapporo. The geography of the island is characterized by volcanic highlands rich of still active volcanic peaks, including, in the Daisetsuzan Volcanic Group, Mount Asahi (2,290 meters) the highest mountain in Hokkaido.

To the south of Honshū are the other two major islands of the country: Kyushu (35,640 sq km) and Shikoku (18,800 sq km). The island of Kyushu is the third largest Japanese island, it hosts the most active Japanese volcano, Mount Aso (1,591 meters), while the highest peak is Mount Kuju-san (1,788 meters). The most important city of the island is Fukuoka, another important center of the island, notorious for the atomic bomb, is Nagasaki.

South of Kyushu extends for over 1,000 km, until reach Formosa (Taiwan), the Ryukyu archipelago, formed by hundreds of volcanic islands, the largest of which is the island of Okinawa (1,015 sq km). The fourth largest island of Japan is the island of Shikoku, which is located south of Honshū and east of Kyushu, the highest mountain on the island of Shikoku is Mount Ishizuchi (1,982 meters).

The economy of Japan, Gross Domestic Product (GDP) nominal in 2011, was the second of the Asian continent, preceded by China, and followed by India.

  • Area: 377,873 sqkm. (Arable 12%, Pastures 2%, Forests and Woodlands 66%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 20%)
  • Population: 127,500,000 (2007 data)
  • State Capital: Tokyo.
  • Languages: The official language is Japanese.
  • Religion: Shintoist, Buddhist, Christian 2%.
  • Currency: Yen (JPY)
  • Time: UTC +9 hours.

This post is also available in: Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) German Russian

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: