Home / Central America / Cayman Islands / Cayman Islands: coral reefs, beaches and tax haven

Cayman Islands: coral reefs, beaches and tax haven

The Cayman Islands are an overseas territory of the United Kingdom, located in the Caribbean and specifically in the Caribbean Sea south of Cuba and northwest of Jamaica.

The country consists of three islands of limestone and coral, the largest island is Grand Cayman (197 sq km), which is also the southernmost and westernmost island of the group. Lived on this island for more than 95 % of the population of the Cayman. The other two islands are those of Little Cayman (28 square kilometers) and Cayman Brac (38 square kilometers), which are located about 120 north-east of the main island. The capital is George Town on the island of Grand Cayman. The islands’ population is predominantly of mixed race, formed from crosses between Africans and Europeans.

The archipelago’s economy is based on tourism, banking and financial activities and fishing. The islands of Grand Cayman and Little Cayman are filled with beaches, among which the most famous is the Seven Mile Beach which stretches along the west coast of Grand Cayman, it is a stretch of white sand crescent-shaped lapped by turquoise waters. Seven Mile Beach on Grand Cayman is often listed among the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean.

The Cayman Islands are known as a popular destination for honeymooners and divers, on the island of Little Cayman is located the Bloody Bay Wall Marine Park which is one of the most popular dive sites in the Caribbean.

  • Area: 259 sqkm.
  • Population: 55,000 (2010 data) (Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 40%, Blacks 20%, Whites 20%, others 20%).
  • State Capital: George Town.
  • Language: Official language is English.
  • Religion: Christian 100% (Catholic, Presbiterian).
  • Currency: Cayman Dollar (KYD)
  • Time: UTC -5 hours.

This post is also available in: German

EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.

Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: