Home / Asien / Oman / Der Oman: Festungen, Landschaften und Traditionen

Der Oman: Festungen, Landschaften und Traditionen

Der Oman (Saltanat ‘Omān) ist ein Sultanat im Südosten der Arabischen Halbinsel mit Maskat als Hauptstadt. Der Staat grenzt im Nordwesten an die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, im Westen an Saudi-Arabien, im Südwesten an den Jemen und wird vom Golf von Oman und dem Arabischen Meer umspült.

Zum Sultanat gehört auch das nördliche Ende der Halbinsel Musandam, das in die Meerenge der Straße von Hormuz hineinragt, und die Exklave von Madha, die innerhalb des Territoriums der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate liegt.

Entlang dem Golf von Oman liegt das schmale und fruchtbare Küstenflachland al-Batinah, wo sich die drei wichtigsten Städte des Staats Maskat (Muscat), Matrah und Sur befinden. Hinter diesem Flachland erhebt sich die Bergkette des Jabal Al Akhdar mit dem höchsten Berg des Omans, dem Jabal Ash Sham mit 3.035 m.

Südlich und südwestlich von dieser Region erstreckt sich eine weite, flache Wüstenzone, die den größten Teil des Oman bedeckt. Die Wüstenflächen sind von trockenen Sandstreifen gekennzeichnet, die sich gegen die Wüstensenke des Rub’ al Khali ausbreiten. Im äußersten Südwesten an der Grenze zum Jemen liegt die Gebirgszone Dhofar.

EIN LAND, DAS IN FRÜHEREN JAHRHUNDERTEN DIE HANDELSROUTEN DES WESTLICHEN INDISCHEN OZEANS KONTROLLIERT HAT

Das Land war im 17. Jahrhundert die herausragende Macht im westlichen Indischen Ozean. Zu dieser Zeit erstreckte sich die omanische Kontrolle über einen großen Teil des Persischen Golfs, über den südlichen Teil der Arabischen Halbinsel und über die afrikanische Küste der heutigen Staaten Somalia, Kenia und Tansania.

Die Wirtschaft des Oman beruht hauptsächlich auf der Ausbeutung von Erdöl- und Erdgasvorkommen und in geringerem Maße auf der von Kupfer, Chromit, Gold und Silber. Wichtig sind der Fang von Sardinen und Perlenaustern und die Viehzucht von Schafen, Ziegen, Rindern und Kamelen. In den Oasen wird Landwirtschaft mit Dattelpalmen und Getreide (Sorghum, Hirse und Gerste) neben Obstbau und Tabakanbau betrieben.

Das Klima im Oman.

Die Regierung von Oman.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 309.500 km² – Ackerland 2%, Wiesen und Weiden 5%, Wald und Buschland 0%, unbewirtschaftet oder unproduktiv 93%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 3.204.000 (Stand: 2006)
  • Hauptstadt: Maskat.
  • Amtssprache: Die Amtssprache ist Arabisch.
  • Religionen: Muslime 97% (Ibadi 55%, Sunniten 38%, Schiiten 4%) und Hindus 2%
  • Währung: Rial Omani (OMR)
  • Zeitzone: UTC+4

This post is also available in: Englisch Russisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Asia / Oman / Oman: forts, natural landscapes and traditions

Oman: forts, natural landscapes and traditions

Oman (Saltanat ‘Omān) is a sultanate located in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula with the capital of Muscat (Muscat) which borders with the United Arab Emirates in the north-west, in the west with Saudi Arabia, in the south-west with Yemen is washed by the Gulf of Oman and the Arabian sea.

The state territory also includes the northern end of the Musandam peninsula, overlooking the Strait of Hormuz and separated territorially from the rest of the country, and the Madha exclave located within the territory of the United Arab Emirates.

Along the Gulf of Oman lies a narrow and fertile coastal plain, al-Batinah. Here are the main cities of the country, including Muscat, Matrah and Sur. Behind this plain rises the Jabal Al Akhdar mountain range, with the highest mountain in the country, the Jabal Ash Sham (3,035 meters).

To the south and south-west of this region there is a vast flat desert area covering most of Oman, formed by arid expanses of sand which in the west stretch towards the desert depression of Rub ‘al Khali. In the extreme southwest, on the border with Yemen, lies the mountainous region of Dhofar (or Zufar).

A COUNTRY THAT CONTROLLED THE TRADE ROUTES OF THE WESTERN INDIAN OCEAN

The country during the seventeenth century was the preeminent power in the western Indian Ocean. At that time, Omani control extended over a large part of the Persian Gulf, on the southern part of the Arabian Peninsula and on the African coast of present-day Somalia, Kenya and Tanzania.

Oman’s economy is mainly based on the exploitation of oil and natural gas fields, and to a lesser extent, of copper, chromite, gold and silver. Important are fishing (sardines, pearl oysters) and breeding (sheep, goats, cattle, and camels), agriculture is practiced in the oases (date palms, cereals (sorghum, millet, barley), fruit and tobacco) .

The climate of Oman.

  • Area: 309,500 sqkm. (Arable 2%, Pastures 5%, Forests and Woodlands 0%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 93%)
  • Population: 3,204,000 (2006 data)
  • State Capital: Muscat (Masqat).
  • Languages: The official language is Arabic.
  • Religion: Muslim 97% (Ibadhi 55%, Sunni 38% Shi’a 4%), Hinduist 2%.
  • Currency: Rial (OMR)
  • Time: UTC +4 hours.

This post is also available in: German Russian

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: