Home / Mittelamerika / Martinique / Martinique: Eine wilde Insel mit einem aktiven Vulkan

Martinique: Eine wilde Insel mit einem aktiven Vulkan

Die Insel Martinique ist ein französisches Überseedépartement in der Karibik südlich von Dominica und nördlich von Saint Lucia in den Kleinen Antillen. Die Hauptstadt ist Fort-de-France. Martinique ist eine Insel vulkanischen Ursprungs, gebirgig und reich an Wäldern. Martinique wurde von Christoph Columbus im Jahre 1493 entdeckt. Erst im Jahre 1635 wirde die Insel von einer Gruppe Franzosen in Saint-Pierre besiedelt.

EIN ZERSTÖRERISCHER VULKAN

Die Insel vulkanischen Ursprungs ist gebirgig und waldreich. Ihre größte Höhe erreicht sie im Vulkan Montagne Pelée mit 1.397 m, der sich am nördlichen Ende der Insel befindet. Dieser Vulkan zerstörte bei seinem letzten Ausbruch im Jahr 1902 die Stadt Saint-Pierre und forderte über 30.000 Opfer. Der nördliche Teil der Insel ist gebirgig. Dieser Teil von Martinique wird nicht nur von der Montagne Pelée dominiert, sondern auch von den Pitons du Carbet mit 1.196 m, einer Gruppe von fünf erloschenen Vulkanen, die die Bucht überragen, in der die Hauptstadt Fort-de-France liegt.

Der südliche Teil von Martinique ist flach mit einigen Hügeln, die selten eine Höhe von 500 m erreichen. Martinique hat aufgrund seiner vulkanischen Natur sowohl schwarze Sandstrände, die aus Vulkanasche bestehen, als auch weiße Sandstrände, die aus Korallen bestehen. Die schwarzen Sandstrände befinden sich im nördlichen Teil der Insel, während sich die Korallenstrände im südlichen Bereich befinden.

Martinique ist ein Agrarland. Man baut Zuckerohr, tropisches Obst, Mais, Hülsenfrüchte, Vanille, Tabak und Gemüse an. Die Fischerei, die Viehzucht, der Tourismus und und der Waldbestand sind wichtige Einkommensquellen.

Das Klima von Martinique

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 1.128 km² – Ackerland 16%, Wiesen und Weiden 13%, Wald und Buschland 44%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 27%
  • Einwohnerzahl: 376.000 (Stand: 2018) -Afrikaner und Mulatten (Nachkommen von Europäern und Afrikanern) zusammen 90%, Weiße 5%
  • Hauptstadt: Fort-de-France
  • Amtssprache: Französisch; die Umgangssprache ist ein französisches Kreol.
  • Religion: Katholisches Christentum
  • Währung: Euro (EUR)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-4

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Central America / Martinique / Martinique: wild island with an active volcano

Martinique: wild island with an active volcano

The island of Martinique (Martinique) is a French overseas department located in the Caribbean, in the Lesser Antilles. The island is located south of Dominica, and north of Saint Lucia. The capital is the city of Fort-de-France. Martinique was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1493. It was not until 1635 that the island was permanently occupied by a group of French colonists who founded Saint-Pierre.

A DESTRUCTIVE VOLCANO

The island, of volcanic origin, is mountainous and rich in forests. It reaches its maximum height with the Montagne Pelée volcano (1,397 meters), which is located at the northern end of the island. This volcano with its last eruption in 1902 destroyed the city of Saint-Pierre causing over 30,000 victims. The northern part of the island is mountainous. This part of Martinique is dominated not only by the Montagne Pelée but also by the Pitons du Carbet (1,196 meters), a group of five ancient volcanoes, now extinct, which dominate the bay where the capital of the island Fort-de-France stands.

The southern part of Martinique is flat with some low hills that rarely reach 500 meters in height. Martinique has, because of its volcanic nature, both black sand beaches, formed by volcanic ash, and white sand beaches, formed by corals. The black sand beaches are located in the northern part of the island, while the coral beaches are located in the southern area.

The economy of the island is based on agriculture. There are cultivated sugar cane, tropical fruit, corn, legumes, vanilla, tobacco, vegetables. Other important economic activities are fishing, forestry, breeding and tourism.

The climate of Martinique.

  • Area: 1,128 sqkm. (Arable 16%, Pastures 13%, Forests and Woodlands 44%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 27%)
  • Population: 376,000 (2018 data) (Africans and Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 90%, Europeans 5%).
  • State Capital: Fort-de-France.
  • Language: Official language is French. Used the French Creole.
  • Religion: Catholic.
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • Time: UTC -4 hours.

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: