Don't Miss
zh-hantzh-hanstrrupljaendecsar
Home / Mittelamerika / Dominica / Dominica: eine vulkanische Insel im Regenwald bedeckt
Trafalgar Wasserfälle, Dominica. Autor Anthony Quintano

Dominica: eine vulkanische Insel im Regenwald bedeckt

Die Insel Domenica (Commonwealth of Dominica) ist eine parlamentarische Republik und Mitglied des Britischen Commonwealth und in den Kleinen Antillen zwischen Guadaloupe und Martinique gelegen. Hauptstadt und wichtigster Hafen der Insel ist Roseau an der Südwestküste. Die Insel Dominica ist die größte und nördlichste der Windward-Inseln (Inseln über dem Winde) in den Kleinen Antillen mit einer Fläche von 751 km ².

Dominica ist eine gebirgige Insel vulkanischen Ursprungs. Ihr Gebiet ist von üppigen Regenwäldern bedeckt. Der höchste Berg ist der Morne Diablotin (1.447 m). Die Insel Dominica hat eine wunderbare Nationalpark, den Morne Trois Pitons Nationalpark, der UNESCO im Jahr 1997 zu den Weltkulturerbe aufgenommen.

Der vulkanische Ursprung ist auch am Boiling Lake abzulesen, einem See mit heißem Wasser. Mit einem Durchmesser von 60 Metern und einer Temperatur zwischen 80° und 90°C stellt er weltweit den zweitgrößten See dieses Typs dar. Auch das das Valley of Desolation, eine Zone reich an heißen schwefelhaltigen Quellen weist auf den vulkanischen Ursprung der Insel hin.

Karte von Dominica

Karte von Dominica

Die Wirtschaft Dominicas gründet auf der Landwirtschaft und Fischerei. Man baut Bananen, Agrumen (Zitronen, Pampelmusen), tropisches Obst, Kaffee, Kakao, Zuckerrohr, Kokospalmen und Maniok an. Die Insel ist auch reich an Waldbestand. Die Industrie dient der Verarbeitung von Landesprodukten. Man erzeugt Fruchtsäfte, alkoholische Getränke (Rum), Seifen und Essenzen. Der Tourismus spielt eine untergeordnete Rolle.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster. 

  • Fläche: 751 km². (Kultivierte Fläche 22%, Wiesen und Weiden 3%, Wald und Buschland 67%, unbewirtschaftet und unproduktiv 8%)
  • Einwohnerzahl: 71.000 (2006) Afrikaner 90%, Mulatten (Nachkommen von Europäern und Afrikanern) 8%, Indianer 2%.
  • Hauptstadt: Roseau.
  • Amtssprache: Englisch. Umgangssprache: Französisches Kreol.
  • Religionen: Christen 95% (Katholiken 80%, Protestanten 15% (Methodisten 5%, Pfingstler 3%, Adventisten 3%, Baptisten 2%, andere Protestanten 2%).
  • Währung: Ostkaribischer Dollar (XCD)
  • Zeitzone: UTC-4.

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Central America / Dominica / Dominica: a volcanic island covered in rainforest

Dominica: a volcanic island covered in rainforest

The island of Dominica (Commonwealth of Dominica) is a parliamentary republic associated with the British Commonwealth, located in the Lesser Antilles. The island is located between Guadeloupe and Martinique. The capital and main port is the small town of Roseau which is located along the southwestern coast. The island of Dominica, with an area of 751 sq km, is the largest and most northerly of the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles.

A MOUNTAIN ISLAND OF VOLCANIC ORIGIN

Dominica is a mountainous island of volcanic origin, largely covered by lush rain forests, the highest mountain being Morne Diablotin (1,447 meters). The island of Dominica has a wonderful national park, the Morne Trois Pitons National Park, which UNESCO included in 1997 as a world heritage site.

The volcanic origin of the island is evident for the presence of a boiling water lake, the Boiling Lake. This lake has a diameter of about 60 meters, and is the second largest lake in the world of this type. Its waters have a temperature that varies between 80 ° C and 90 ° C. Further evidence of the volcanic nature of the island is also the Valley of Desolation, an area rich in sulphurous hot springs.

The economy of the island is based on agriculture and fishing. Bananas, citrus fruits (lemons, grapefruits), tropical fruit, coffee, cocoa, sugar cane, coconut palms and cassava are grown there. Rich is the forest heritage. The industry is dedicated to the transformation of agricultural products, fruit juices, alcoholic drinks (rum), soap and essential oils are produced. Fair importance is given by tourism.

The climate of Dominica.

  • Area: 751 sqkm. (Arable 22%, Pastures 3%, Forests and Woodlands 67%, Uncultivated and Unproductive 8%)
  • Population: 71,000 (2019 data) (Africans 90%, Mulattos (descendants of European and African) 8%, Amerindians 2%).
  • State Capital: Roseau.
  • Language: Official language is English. Spoken also a French-Creole.
  • Religion: Christian 95% (Catholic 80%, Protestant 15% (Methodist 5%, Pentecostal 3%, Seventh-day Adventist 3%, Baptist 2%, other Protestants 2%)).
  • Currency: East Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
  • Time: UTC -4 hours.

This post is also available in: German

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: