Home / Europa / Andorra / Andorra: eine alte Fürstentum in den Pyrenäen
Kirche von Sant Climent de Pal, Andorra. Autor Jaume Meneses

Andorra: eine alte Fürstentum in den Pyrenäen

Andorra (Principat d’Andorra-Principauté d’Andorre) ist ein kleines Fürstentum in den Pyrenäen. Die Souveränität wird gemeinsam vom Bischof von Urgel (Spanien) und Frankreich ausgeübt. Das kleine Fürstentum hatte dank seiner geografischen Lage lange Zeit seine Isolation bewahren können.

Das Fürstentum Andorra liegt in den östlichen Pyrenäen in einer Gegend, die reich an Wäldern ist, und von dem Tal des Flusses Valira durchzogen wird. Die Grenze Envalira, die auf einer Höhe von 2.409 m liegt, trennt es von Frankreich. Die meisten Landschaften Andorras sind in der Eiszeit von Gletschern geformt worden.

Die Wasserscheide der Pyrenäen trennt Frankreich von Andorra. Die Berge erreichen fast dreitausend Meter Höhe und gipfeln im Coma Pedrosa (2.943 m), einem Berg, der im Nordwesten des Landes nahe der Grenze zu Spanien und Frankreich liegt.

Andorra ist heute ein zollfreies Gebiet, besitzt einen wichtigen Kurort und ein Wintersportgebiet. Durch diese Besonderheit hat sich der Tourismus stark entwickelt. Durch ihn werden 80% des Bruttoinlandsproduktes erwirtschaftet. Zugleich ist Andorra ein begehrtes Steuerparadies.

Karte von Andorra

Karte von Andorra

Das Gebiet des heutigen Fürstentums wurde bereits im zehnten Jahrhundert der Regierung des Bischofs von Urgel unterstellt. Das Fürstentum Andorra ist ein Staat mittelalterlichen Ursprungs. Seine Gründung geht auf das dreizehnte Jahrhundert zurück. Die Souveränität dieses Staates teilten sich seitdem der Bischof von Urgel und der Graf von Foix. In den folgenden Jahrhunderten wurde der Graf von Foix erst durch den König von Frankreich und später durch den Präsidenten der Französischen Republik ersetzt. Der Letztgenannte wird durch den Präfekten des Départe​ments Pyrénées-Orientales vertreten.

Deutsche Textkorrektur von Dietrich Köster.

  • Fläche: 468 km²
  • Einwohnerzahl: 72.320. Spanier (43%), Andorraner (33%), Franzosen (7%) und Portugiesen (11%).
  • Hauptstadt: Andorra la Vella (Andorra la Vieja; Andorre-la-Vieille)
  • Amtssprache: Katalanisch. Daneben sind Spanisch und Französisch wichtige Sprachen.
  • Religion: Katholizismus.
  • Währung: Euro (EUR)
  • Zeitzone: UTC+1 (im Sommer UTC+2)

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Europe / Andorra / Andorra: an ancient principality in the Pyrenees

Andorra: an ancient principality in the Pyrenees

Andorra (Principat d’Andorra-Principauté d’Andorre) is a small principality situated in the Pyrenees, formally under the joint sovereignty of France and the Bishop of Urgel (Spain). The tiny principality of Andorra has developed and preserved its isolation thanks to its geographical situation for a long time.

A PRINCIPALITY IN THE PYRENEES

The Principality of Andorra is located in the eastern Pyrenees mountain range in an area rich in forests and crossed by the valley of the river Valira. The border pass Envalira, which is located at an altitude of 2,409 meters, separates it from France. Most of the landscape of  the country has been shaped by glaciers.

The watershed of the Pyrenees separates France from Andorra. The mountains reach considerable heights up to nearly three thousand meters. The Coma Pedrosa (2,943 meters), a mountain located in the northwest of the country near the border with Spain and France, is the highest mountain in the country.

The country is now a duty-free area and an important summer and winter resort. This peculiarity contributed to an important development of tourism. It accounts for about 80% of the country’s gross domestic product of the country. This country is a greatly appreciated tax haven.

The territory where today stands the principality was submitted to the government of the Bishop of Urgell since the tenth century. The Principality of Andorra is a state that has ancient origins, it was established in the thirteenth century, as a state entity whose sovereignty was divided between the Bishop of Urgell and the Count of Foix. In the following centuries the Count of Foix was replaced by the King of France.

The climate of Andorra.

English text correction by Dietrich Köster. 

  • Area: 468 sq km
  • Population: 72,320. Spaniards (43%), Andorrans (33%), Portuguese (11%) and French (7%).
  • State Capital: Andorra la Vella (Andorra la Vieja; Andorre-la-Vieille)
  • Language: The official language is Catalan. Spanish and French are widely spoken.
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism.
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • Time: Central European Time (UTC+1). (Summer Daylight Saving Time UTC+2).

ACCOMMODATIONS, APARTMENTS, B&B AND HOTELS

Booking.com

This post is also available in: German