Home / Ozeanien / Französisch-Polynesien / Tahiti: Ein Name, der an das Paradies erinnert

Tahiti: Ein Name, der an das Paradies erinnert

Tahiti ist mit 178.000 Einwohnern und 1.048 km² die bedeutendste Insel Französisch-Polynesiens, und stellt das pulsierende Herz der Region dar. Die Hauptstadt Papeete liegt hier, und hier wohnt etwa 70% der gesamten Bevölkerung der Archipelen.

Tahiti ist eine Vulkaninsel, von zwei Teilen gebildet: Tahiti Nui und Tahiti Iti, die sind miteinander durch eine Meerenge verbunden. Die Insel ist reich an Bergen. Hier befindet sich der höchste Berg Polynesiens, der Berg Orohena (2.241 m).

Die Einwohner von Tahiti auf dem schmalen Küstenstreifen konzentriert sind, die Berge des Innenraums nicht Siedlungen zu ermöglichen. Das Hinterland ist wild, von großartigen Gipfeln bezeichnet, die sind mit Vegetation und Wasserfällen bedeckt. Die Küste ist von vulkanischen schwarzsandigen Stränden gekennzeichnet.

Tahiti wurde von europäischen Seefahrer im Jahre 1767 entdeckt wurde, war der Engländer Samuel Wallis aus den Augen, und als der erste Europäer, der auf der Insel landen, brachte er begeisterte Kritiken, weil die Förderung des Friedens und der Freiheit der Einwohner, die Milde des Klimas und der Schönheit der Natur.

Die Sendungen später kam der Franzose Louis de Bougainville 1768, und der Engländer James Cook in drei aufeinanderfolgenden Reisen, hatte die gleichen Erfahrungen rave, alle dazu beigetragen, die Geburtsstunde der Mythos von den Inseln der Südsee, dem Mythos, dass eine große geben Teil ist noch in der kollektiven Vorstellung anwesend.

Vor der Westküste von Tahiti ist auf der Insel Moorea, die etwa 10 Meilen entfernt ist, sind die wunderschönen Sonnenuntergänge, die auf Moorea von Papeete und die umliegenden Berge und das Flughafengelände Faaa gesehen werden kann. Die Korallenatoll von Tetiaroa, das Privateigentum der amerikanische Schauspieler Marlon Brando war bis zu seinem Tod liegt etwa 50 km nördlich von Tahiti entfernt.

This post is also available in: Englisch

banner
Close
GDPR
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.




Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel:

Home / Oceania / French Polynesia / Tahiti: a name that evokes the paradise
Tahiti, French Polynesia. Author Viajar24h.com. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution.
Tahiti, French Polynesia. Author Viajar24h.com

Tahiti: a name that evokes the paradise

Tahiti (about 178,000 inhabitants), the largest (1,048 square kilometers) of the islands of French Polynesia, is the beating heart of the region, the capital Papeete is located here, and here lives about 70% of the population of all the islands of French Polynesia.

The island of Tahiti is an island of volcanic origin, it consists of two parts, Tahiti Nui and Tahiti Iti, connected by a narrow isthmus, the island is full of mountains, here is also the highest mountain in French Polynesia, Mount Orohena, that reaches 2,241 meters.

The Tahitians are concentrated along the narrow coastal strip, the mountains of the interior do not allow settlements. The interior of the island is still a wild beauty with majestic peaks covered with vegetation and waterfalls. While the coast is characterized by beaches of black volcanic sand.

Tetiaroa, French Polynesia. Author Supertoff. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike

Tetiaroa, French Polynesia. Author Supertoff

Tahiti was discovered by European navigators in 1767, was the Englishman Samuel Wallis to sight it, and as the first European to land on the island, he brought back enthusiastic comments because of the peaceful and free disposition of the inhabitants, the mildness of the climate and the beauty of nature.

Also the expeditions that followed, there came the Frenchman Louis de Bougainville in 1768, and the Englishman James Cook in three successive trips, had the same enthusiastic experiences, all contributed to the rise to the myth of the islands of the South Seas, the myth that a large part is still present in the collective imagination.

In front of the west coast of Tahiti is located on the island of Moorea which is about ten kilometers from Tahiti. Beautiful are the sunsets that can be seen on Moorea and its mountains from Papeete and the airport area of Faaa. The coral atoll of Tetiaroa that has been privately owned by the American actor Marlon Brando until his death is about 50 km north of Tahiti.

banner
Close
Stay informed about Travel Guide
eXTReMe Tracker